UCC Library: Law: Books & eBooks

How to Find a Book

Use UCC Library's OneSearch to search for books & eBooks.

For print books, note:

Location: what floor it is on
Call number: where it is shelved - see the book's spine
Status: is it available or currently on loan?

For help, see:

New Books

Would you like to be alerted by email to new books received in the Library in your subject area? Just log into your Library Account on the Library Catalogue and save your search. See the instructions for Preferred Searches and email alerts here.

Recommend a Book for the Library

You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase. Click here and fill out the e-proposal form.

Books for Law at UCC Library

Law books are shelved at 340 to 349 on the second floor of the library.

Use the Library Catalogue to locate books.

You can search the catalogue here:

eBooks

Most of UCC Library's eBooks can be located through the Library catalogue. A 'view online' link is provided to the eBook.

Using a keyword search for Law and ebook will bring up a list of ebooks available.

Databases which give access to Law eBook titles

Making of Modern Law This link opens in a new window
MOML comprises 22,000 titles about the legal history relating to American and British Commonwealth law between the years 1800 to 1926.
Westlaw IE This link opens in a new window
Irish legal materials database; contains Irish reported and unreported case law, consolidated/annotated legislation, and legal journals. Also offers a current awareness service providing updates on recent developments in Irish law.
Westlaw UK - Login using your UCC email credentials This link opens in a new window
Law of the United States, United Kingdom, European Union and other jurisdictions. Includes journal articles, case law and legislation. Includes CELEX database of EU legislation and case law.
Ebook Central (Academic Complete) This link opens in a new window
The Ebook Central resource now incorporates a subscription to the Academic Complete titles package, which provides UCC Library with full text access to over 200,000 ebooks, across a broad range of subject areas.
UCC Library owns over 2,900 of the titles available on Ebook Central.

Useful Titles

Byrne and Mccutcheon on the Irish Legal System by Raymond Byrne; Paul McCutcheon; Claire Bruton; Gerard Coffey
Byrne and McCutcheon on the Irish Legal System, 6th edition provides an excellent introduction to the legal system in Ireland and is essential for any student starting legal studies in Ireland.
Tort Law in Ireland by John Tully
Publication Date: 2014-10-10
This book covers the essential principles of Irish tort law in a clear and succinct style, making it an ideal introduction to the law of tort for undergraduate students. Tort Law in Ireland is fully up-to-date to reflect recent developments in the law.
Understanding Jurisprudence by Raymond Wacks
Publication Date: 2012-03-24
With a clear, engaging, and informal writing style, Understanding Jurisprudence is the perfect guide for students new to legal theory and looking for a convenient and interesting starting point for this sometimes daunting subject. Key theories and theorists are introduced in a compact and manageable format, offering an accessible account of the central ideas without oversimplification.