UCC Library: Law: Journals and Databases

Journals and eJournals

Find specific electronic & print journals by searching the Journal Portal

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Databases

BAILII: British & Irish Legal Information Institute
provides free internet access to primary legal materials from Ireland, Northern Ireland, England, Wales and Scotland.

Decisis This link opens in a new window
Decisis is an online law reporting service widely used within the Irish legal profession and contains reports on every new judgment of the Supreme Court, Court of Appeal and High Court. Over 12,000 reports of new judgments have been published on Decisis since 2011.
The updates normally include: i) a summary of the court’s decision; ii) a link to the text on the Courts Services web site (where available); iii) key terms and phrases used; d) the main authorities cited.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
is a database of 1600 + journals on US history, US and international law, political science, business, public policy. (Quick Guide to using)
JustisOne (moved to vLex Justis site, 1st July 2021) This link opens in a new window
JustisOne is both a full-text database of case law and legislation as well as a citator, replacing Justis and JustCite. It is a legal database providing authoritative coverage of UK and Irish primary case law and specialist case law, UK statute law, and easily- searchable European case law and legislation. Key features include full-text English Law Reports from 1865 and Irish Reports from 1919, and full-text Acts of Parliament for England, Wales and Scotland dating back to the Magna Carta (1235).
Lexis+ UK - Login using your UCC email credentials This link opens in a new window
provides access to journals, case law and books covering Irish, UK, EU and international material.
For News & Business sources, see Nexis UK.
Westlaw IE This link opens in a new window
Irish legal materials database; contains Irish reported and unreported case law, consolidated/annotated legislation, and legal journals. Also offers a current awareness service providing updates on recent developments in Irish law.
Westlaw UK - Login using your UCC email credentials This link opens in a new window
Law of the United States, United Kingdom, European Union and other jurisdictions. Includes journal articles, case law and legislation. Includes CELEX database of EU legislation and case law.