Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.
Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here
Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here
'Periodical' or 'serial'
‘Scholarly’ or 'academic’ journal =
Peer review =
When searching Google Scholar from home, log in to your Library Account first, and then search Google Scholar using the search box on the Library's Databases A-Z or use the search box below.
UCC Library offers training in Boole Library on a variety of topics including Google Scholar. View a list of upcoming events.
For more information, see the following:
Library databases are online collections of information. They mainly contain journal articles but most databases also hold book chapters, book reviews, reports, and conference papers.
Sometimes only the abstract, or summary, of a journal article will be available in a database but often you will be able to read the full text of the article too.
Below are key databases you should be aware of.
Below are other databases of interest.
Below are a selection of database tutorials and 'how to' videos.
For Recommended Journals in Audiology, please refer to the Audiology Subject Guide.
For Recommended Journals in Speech and Hearing Sciences, please refer to the Speech and Hearing Sciences Subject Guide (soon to be published).
For Recommended Journals in Speech and Language Therapy, please refer to the Speech and Language Therapy Subject Guide (soon to be published).
For Recommended Journals in Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy, please refer to the Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy Subject Guide.
You can also find a journal using the Journals Portal and searching by journal title or keyword.