Skip to main content

Library Re-opening

UCC Library is committed to reopening both Boole and Brookfield libraries as soon as it is safe to do so: the safety of library users and staff is the chief guiding principle. Read more about our plans and schedule for re-opening our Libraries .

Please see our policies regarding re-opening here

Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy: Journals & Databases

What is an Academic Journal?

'Periodical' or 'serial

  • Any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

‘Scholarly’ or 'academic’ journal

  • Periodical containing research articles that are peer-reviewed and aimed at researchers.

Peer review = 

  • Every paper/article submitted to an academic journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Journals and E-Journals

Find specific electronic & print journals by searching the Journals Portal  

Thumbnail

Google Scholar

When searching Google Scholar from home, log in to your Library Account first, and then search Google Scholar using the search box on the Library's Databases A-Z or use the search box below.

UCC Library offers training in Boole Library on a variety of topics including Google Scholar. View a list of upcoming events

For more information, see the following:

Google Scholar Search

Databases

Library databases are online collections of information. They mainly contain journal articles but most databases also hold book chapters, book reviews, reports, and conference papers.

Sometimes only the abstract, or summary, of a journal article will be available in a database but often you will be able to read the full text of the article too.

Below are key databases you should be aware of. 

Below are other databases of interest. 

Below are a selection of database tutorials and 'how to' videos.

Accessing Electronic Resources

Information for UCC staff and students in relation to accessing electronic resources, including useful guides and terms and conditions of use, can be found on the Electronic Resources Subject Guide

Recommended Journals

You can also find a journal using the Journals Portal and searching by journal title or keyword.