Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hawtin: Displaying a Collection: Home

5 different areas in a collection.

12 Months in a Collection

Over 2018 there was a year long display in the Rare Books Reading Room in Special Collections which changed on a regular basis. This online guide complemented the physical display..

The purpose of the display was to showcase the range that may be in any one collection as well as to demonstrate how collections in UCC Library's Special Collections interconnect.

For 2018 the display focused on the Hawtin Collection which is particularly rich with 19th century and early 20th century printings. 

Special Collections

Special Collections is home to UCC's unique collections of literary manuscripts, early printed books pre-1850, books from printing presses, collections donated from individuals, 18th - 20th century newspapers, theses, maps, pamphlets and microfilm.

Special Collections are “elements of distinction that serve to differentiate an academic or research library from its peers” (Dooley & Luce).

We, in Special Collections, have a dual role, not only to facilitate current research but also to care and conserve these unique and distinctive materials for future users. 

Opening Hours

From 30 May - 9 September 2022: Special Collections & Archives will be open Monday-Friday (excluding public holidays) 11:00-16:30. We are open to UCC staff and students, and members of the public. 

 

Closed: 6 June and 1 August 2022. Late evening openings on Wednesdays will resume 14 September 2022.

 

For more information about what items must be requested and to request them via the online request form see Request Special Collections & Archives.

 

In addition, we continue offering:

  • Scan & Deliver for Special Collections' material including items in the Reference Reading Room, Microform and items that show Special Collections by Request / Special Collections by Appointment on the library catalogue.
  • Reprographic requests for manuscripts & archival material via specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie.

Every effort will be made to fulfil scan & deliver / reprographic types of requests, but this may not always be possible due to availability, copyright restrictions, size and condition of materials. Due to the time-consuming nature of fulfilling requests across multiple microfilm reels rather than journal articles/book chapters there is a limit of 5 items in a week. 

If you have any queries relating to our collections please email specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie. This email address is monitored regularly.