Early and Medieval Irish: Free Web Sources

There are 1,757 biographies on this site. All of the featured lives, from 1560 to the present day, had a connection to the Irish language. The contents of the site are based on the series Beathaisnéis by Diarmuid Breathnach and Máire Ní Mhurchú.

PDF from UCC Library's Special Collections

CISP. from University College London

A series of three inter-related Irish glossaries, conventionally known as Sanas Cormaic ‘Cormac’s Glossary’ (preserved in seven manuscripts and containing 1301 entries), O’Mulconry’s Glossary (preserved complete in one manuscript, together with three small fragments, with 874 entries), and Dúil Dromma Cetta ‘the Collection of Druim Cett’ (preserved complete in two manuscripts together with two fragments, with 643 entries).

from Celtic Studies Association
of North America (CSANA)

EMAP aims to play a role in identifying, collating, interpreting and disseminating this massive volume of early medieval archaeological data and in furthering research agendas in early medieval archaeological scholarship.

The ultimate aim of the Ogham in 3D project is to laser-scan as many as possible of the approximately four hundred surviving Ogham stones and to make these 3D models freely available on the Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies website as part of a multi-disciplinary archive of Ogham stones.

from University of the Highliands & Islands

Find and view descriptions and images of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the British Library.

Digital versions of two of the gems surviving from the monasteries of Reichenau and St. Gall. One is the unique architectural drawing known as the Plan of St. Gall. The other is the extensive ninth-century library collections of the two monasteries, identifiable by their distinctive script.

Corpus of Electronic Texts. A searchable online textbase consisting of over 18 million words, in 1617 contemporary and historical documents from many areas, including literature and the other arts. From UCC

There are four major sections: Images (digitised pictures of interest to Celticists), Text Archive (links to PDF files of rare material), Celtic Noticeboard (an area devoted to announcements of forthcoming conferences, events, vacancies, publications etc.) and Celtic journals (tables of contents of Celtic Studies journals).

Access to the medieval codices in the Abbey Library of St. Gallen

from UCC

Digitized Medieval manuscripts (App). Links to digital repositories containing digitized western medieval manuscripts from all over the world

Digital images of Irish manuscripts

from Georgetown Unversity

Early Christian Ecclesiastical Settlement in Ireland 5th to 12th Centuries

A tool (2017 version) for facilitating research on Early Irish prose and prose-and-verse tales.

An on-line research and teaching tool for Early and Medieval Irish from School of Irish, Celtic Studies, UCD

from University of Alberta. It covers medieval paleography and codicology. It also has glossaries and an extensive bibliography.

(University of Leeds) App tutorials for medieval and renaissance handwriting.

Introduction to medieval writing and the study of palaeography by Dianne Tillotson, a freelance medievalist.

from the National Archives UK. It covers introductory & advanced Latin, paleography & Latin paleography, Roman numerals and coins.

(University of Nottingham). It covers dating documents, weights & measures, accounting records, deeds, manorial records, maps & plans, medieval books and medieval documents.