Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Early and Medieval Irish: Journals & Databases

Finding Journals & E-journals

Find specific electronic journals and e-books by searching the E-Journals Portal 

Search the Library Catalogue to find printed journals

         

         Public Domain, Wikimedia

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal:  periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Databases to Start With

Many research topics in Celtic Studies are interdisciplinary, i.e. overlap into other scholarly disciplines. Therefore, this list includes the most relevant resources from other likely disciplines (such as History, History of Art, Philosophy, Literature, etc.) as well.

Within Web of Science, scroll down the screen and deselect the “Science Citation Index Expanded” and the “Social Sciences Citation Index”, leaving the “Arts & Humanities Citation Index” ticked.

Quick Start with International Medieval Bibliography

The International Medieval Bibliography is the leading bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c.400-1500CE).

 

OneSearch

OneSearch searches across a lot of the Library print AND electronic resources at the same time, including:

  • Library Catalogue
  • Journals
  • Databases
  • Books, eBooks
  • Newspaper articles
  • Theses
  • Open Access resources

Information on how to use OneSearch

Quick Search

Theses & Newspapers

For access to UCC theses and theses from other Universities have a look at the Theses Guide. For information about Newspapers in UCC Library, and newspapers available through Library databases, see the Newspapers Guide.