UCC Library: Environmental Science: Databases & Data Repositories

Top Three Open Access Databases

De Gruyter Open Access Journals
Click on "About Us" on the top and then click on "Subjects" to choose your subject area.
EDP Open
EDP Open is an open access platform providing freely accessible content managed by EDP Sciences, a society- based professional publisher formed to serve the scientific community. EDP Sciences is owned by scientists, driven by scientists for scientists. Its aim is to develop a high quality list of open access journals to meet the increasing demand for high quality alternative journals of choice for authors than subscription restriction journals. It is essential that the journals are perceived as both high quality and global in outreach.

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,000 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
JSTOR

JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.

Access is available to the following collections: the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection, the Arts and Sciences I to XV Collections, Business IV Collection, Global Plants Collection, Hebrew Journals Collection, the Ireland Collection, the Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, Public Health Journals Collection, Security Studies Collection and Sustainability Collection.
ScienceDirect

The resource provides full text access to over 2,500 journals and over 190 UCC purchased books in all disciplines published by Elsevier Science.

Most journal coverage dates back to 1995. However, backfiles are available for the following titles:

Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications (1959-1994)
Chemical Physics (1973-1994)
Chemical Physics Letters (1967-1994)
Journal of Chromatography A (1958-1994)
Journal of Chromatography B: Biomedical Sciences and Applications (1977-1994)
Nuclear Physics B (1967-1994)
Tetrahedron (1957-1994)
Tetrahedron: Asymmetry (1990-1994)
Tetrahedron Letters (1959-1994)
Scopus

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities — Scopus delivers the broadest overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information.
Web of Science Core Collection
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities and navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.

Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.

Research & Data Repositories - BEES

Data Repositories in Environmental Science

CORA
CORA provides access to University College Cork's scholarly and scientific research publications and theses.

Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data.org)
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.

more... less...

It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.