Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

The Eoin MacNeill Collection: Home

About the Collection

Collection Ref.:             IE BL/PC/EMN
Title:                            The Eoin MacNeill Collection
Date:                             19 April 1916
Level of description:    Item
Extent:                          1 item
 
Administrative History: IE/BL/PC/EMN is the Eoin MacNeill Collection donated to UCC Library in January 2016. 
 

Biographical History: Eoin (John) MacNeill (1867-1945) was a Gaelic scholar and Nationalist politician born 15 May 1867 in Glenarm, Co. Antrim and died 15 October 1945 in Dublin. He was a key figure in the Gaelic revival, a co-founder of the Gaelic League along with Douglas Hyde to preserve Irish language and culture.

In 1913 he established the Irish Volunteers and served as their Chief-of-Staff. He held this position during the Easter Rising (1916) though had no role in it or the planning of it. MacNeill helped countermand the Easter Monday rising by placing a newspaper advertisement advising Volunteers not to take part, thus reducing the number of rebel combatants actively taking part. He was arrested and sentenced to life imprisonment but was released in 1917.

He was later elected to the First Dáil as a member of Sinn Féin. His political career spanned 1918-27, serving as Minister for Education (1922-25). He failed to be re-elected in 1927 and he returned to academia, including roles such as the Chair of the Irish Manuscripts Commission, President of the Irish Historical Society, the RSAI and the RIA. He retired in 1941.

MacNeill married Agnes Moore in 1898 and they had four sons and four daughters.

Information taken from the Eoin MacNeill entry of Dictionary of Irish Biography and Wikipedia

Content:  The collection consists of 1 mss letter on headed notepaper of the Irish Volunteers.

Access & Use

Email: specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie

Finding Aid: Item description (see separate tab above, next to 'Home' tab)

Additional Collection Information

Language: English

Copyright: UCC Library

Collection Image

   Excerpt from Eoin MacNeill letter