Skip to Main Content

Frank O'Connor Bibliographic Library: Home

Published output of Frank O'Connor.

About the Collection

The Frank O'Connor Bibliographic Library is a definitive collection of the works of the Cork-born short story writer Frank O'Connor and features many of his first editions, along with subsequent editions and overseas publications and translations.

The collection prefix before the call number is FOC Bibl.

Provenance

The Frank O'Connor Bibliographic Library was collected as a reference aid by Prof. Ruth Sherry for her bibliographical work and was deposited in UCC by her executors and Mrs Harriet O'Donovan Sheehy.

Collection Highlights

More Information

UCC Library's Special Collections holds Frank O'Connor's personal library.

In addition UCC Library Archives Service holds:

  • the Frank O'Connor (Agents) Collection (BL/L/FOCA). The Frank O’Connor (Agents) collection is a group of mainly files generated by 3 agents, Don Congdon (1918 – 2009), Cyrilly Abels (1903 – 1975) and Joan Daves (1919 – 1977), who handled O’Connor’s literary affairs.
  • Correspondence with Frank O'Connor & Seán O'Faolain (BL/L/JVK;PD;GW). This is an artificial collection, comprising three small collections which all involve correspondence with and about the Irish writer Frank O’Connor and Sean O’Faolain.
  • Ruth Sherry: Index Cards (BL/AR/RS/1). The collection contains handwritten index cards, in pencil and ink, created by Ruth Sherry during the course of researching and compiling the definitive bibliography of the writer Frank O’Connor. Professor Sherry passed away before the work was published.