Skip to Main Content

Harrison Collection: Home

Personal Collection of Richard Harrison.

About the Collection

The collection was a working library for Richard Harrison's publications. The subject matter is predominantly relating to Quakers, with additional works on medical studies and language. Harrison collected works on the history and development of medicine as part of his research for Dr John Rutty (1698-1775) of Dublin: A Quaker Polymath in the Enlightenment. The items range from the early 18th century to the present. The collection comprises c.500 items, c.90 17th – 18th century items, c.200 19th century items and the remainder are 20th-21st century items. Works in the collection are in English, Irish and Welsh.

The collection prefix before the call number is: Harrison.

The collection is open.

Provenance

The collection was donated by Richard Harrison.

Biographical History

Richard S Harrison / Risteárd Mac Annraoi studied in TCD, Dublin and has lived in Cork since 1987. He had a family connection in Cork and came here in 1987 from Dublin and remained here ever since.  

Collection Highlights

More Information

Opening Hours

  • All rooms: Monday-Friday 11:00-16:30.
  • Microform & Reference Reading Room: Wednesday: 11:00-19:15 (Semester Only*).
  • Closed: Weekends, Public Holidays & Christmas Week.

*Excluding January and Easter Recess.

 

For further details see the Library Calendar.

 

We are open to UCC staff and students, and members of the public. For more information about what items must be requested and to request them via the online request form see Request Special Collections & Archives.

 

If you have any queries relating to our collections please email specialcollectionsarchives@ucc.ie