Skip to Main Content

Harrison Collection: Access, Use & Copying

Personal Collection of Richard Harrison.

Access & Use

Items from the collection must be requested in advance via the online request form

Items from the collection published before 1850 must be used in the Rare Books Reading Room in Special Collections & Archives.

Items published after 1850 may be used in the Reference Reading Room in Special Collections & Archives. 

See Special Collections & Archives' Opening Hours for the hours when these rooms are open.

Copying

Items in the Harrison Collection may be in or out of copyright. See Academic Integrity - Copyright for information on length of copyright.

For items out of copyright:

As many items are annotated the individual copies of each work are considered unique, therefore please fill in the appropriate form before taking photographs or scanning pages.

As some items may be in fragile binding please check with Special Collections' staff if photography or scanning is possible.

In addition, if copying is required for publication then contact the Special Collections Librarian.

For items within copyright:

Irish Copyright Law allows users to copy material under 'fair dealing.' There are certain restrictions:

  • only a reasonable portion can be copied
  • material must be for private study
  • sufficient acknowledgement must be given

Check with Special Collections' staff if photography or scanning is possible and fill in the appropriate form before taking photographs or scanning pages.

In addition:

  • If copying of Richard Harrison's works are required for publication then permission to use the material must be sought in advance from the author.
  • if copying of works not by Richard Harrison are required for publication then contact the respective publisher.