UCC Library: History: Journals & Databases

Finding Journals & E-journals

Find specific electronic journals and e-books by searching the E-Journals Portal

Search the Library Catalogue to find printed journals

Journal of the Cork Historical and Archaeological Sociey

JCHAS Digital Archive

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Databases to Start With:

Databases help you to discover what has been published in the journals, in your area of research. The following are good starting-points for a literature search for your research topic:

Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
This resource provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This resource covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The leading bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c.400-1500) providing a comprehensive and current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes worldwide.

See full list of databases recommended for History here

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
Access is available to the following collections: the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection, the Arts and Sciences I to XV Collections, Business IV Collection, Global Plants Collection, Hebrew Journals Collection, the Ireland Collection, the Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, Public Health Journals Collection, Security Studies Collection and Sustainability Collection.

History resources on JSTOR
A guide from JSTOR on using the database for History resources.

OneSearch

OneSearch searches across a lot of the Library print AND electronic resources at the same time, including:

Library Catalogue
Journals
Databases
Books, eBooks
Newspaper articles
Theses
Open Access resources

Information on how to use OneSearch

OneSearch Guide for Users
Information from Ex Libris on their Summon product (known as OneSearch in UCC Library)

Advanced Search Tips for OneSearch
Tips on how to make the best use of OneSearch

Quick Search

Top Online Reference Resources

Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new window
An authoritative reference work of nearly 11,000 lives for scholars of Irish history, society and culture. It tells the island’s life story through the biographies, at home and overseas, of prominent men and women born in Ireland, and the noteworthy Irish careers of those born outside Ireland.
Open Access from 2021
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Oxford DNB includes over 63,000 biographies of people who shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.
Oxford Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the more than 6,000 subject entries, over 20,000 biographies, 40,000 image links and 7,000 searchable images.

Theses & Newspapers

For access to UCC theses, and theses from other Universities, refer to the Theses Guide. For information about Newspapers in UCC Library, and newspapers available through Library databases, see the Newspapers Guide.