Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

History: Books & eBooks

Books for History at UCC Library

UCC Library uses the 'Dewey Decimal' system. Use the Library Catalogue to locate books. History books can be found on all floors of the Library - for example:

  • 270 History of Christianity & Christian Church
  • 305 Social groups
  • 709 History of Art
  • 829 Old English (Anglo-Saxon) literature
  • 900 History & Geography

You can search the Library Catalogue here:

Sourcing Books from Other Libraries

If you need a book that UCC Library does not have you can:

WorldCat: great free resource for discovering items held in other libraries.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

How to Find a Book

Use the Library Catalogue to find books and e-books. Note:

  1. Location: what floor it is on
  2. Call number: where it is shelved - see the book's spine
  3. Status: is it available or currently on loan?

For help, see:

How do I find a Book?

E-books

On the eBooks/eJournals page choose ebooks only and search for words in the title:

 

Or browse by subject:

 

Most of UCC Library's e-books can be located through the Library catalogue. A 'view online' link is provided to the e-book, example:

It is also possible to keyword search e-book databases. For a full list of these (for all subject areas) see here. E-book databases relevant for History include: 

Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections is home to UCC's unique collections of literary manuscripts, early printed books pre-1850, books from presses, collections donated from individuals, 18th - 20th century newspapers, theses, maps, pamphlets and microfilm. See the Special Collections Library Guide

New Books

Would you like to be alerted by email to new books received in the Library in your subject area? Just log into your Library Account on the Library Catalogue and save your search. See the instructions for Preferred Searches and email alerts here.

Recommend a Book for the Library

You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase. Log into your Library Account