Find specific electronic journals and e-books by searching the E-Journals Portal
Search the Library Catalogue to find printed journals
A 'journal' or 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).
A ‘scholarly’ or 'academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.
Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.
Databases help you to discover what has been published in the journals, in your area of research. The following are a good starting-point for a literature search for your research topic:
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content dating back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
This resource covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
This database provides access to journals covering the science of psychology and behaviour. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
PsycINFO is an abstract and index database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature and summaries dating back to the 1600s. This resource is renowned for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. It is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities — Scopus delivers the broadest overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information.
OneSearch searches across a lot of the Library print AND electronic resources at the same time, including:
Information on how to use OneSearch
By Ludovic Bertron from New York City, Usa - https://www.flickr.com/photos/23912576@N05/2942525739, CC BY 2.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=14831997
Sample of ejournal and ebook titles on gay literature available via UCC Library ej-ournals/e-books Portal. Try other search terms to pick up other relevant titles e.g. sexualit* (includes sexuality, sexualities), queer etc.
For access to UCC theses and theses from other Universities have a look at the Theses Guide. For information about Newspapers in UCC Library, and newspapers available through Library databases, see the Newspapers Guide.
