UCC Library: LGBT Studies: Useful Web Sources

Irish Resources

Ceilte: Mapping LGBT Heritage in Ireland
explores connections between Ireland's LGBT history and locations in the landscape.
Christopher Robson Photographic Archive
presented to the National Library of Ireland National Photographic Archive
History of the Pride Movement from Dublin LGBTQ Pride
Irish Queer Archive on Facebook
UCC LGBT Staff Network Resources
Reports, websites or other resources as suggested by the UCC LGBT Staff Network
Cork City Libraries blog
To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall riots in the form of an exhibition during LGBT Awareness Week.
Hirschfeld Centre, Dublin
Hirschfeld Centre, Dublin (2)

UCC LGBT Society Archives

UCC LGBT Society Archives
from before the society's initial foundings to 2010. 21st Anniversary booklet.

Other Online Resources

Contemporary sources

Ireland

BeLonG To BeLonG To is an LGBT youth organisation in Ireland which caters for young people aged between 14–23 years.
Cork Gay Project About: To ensure that the Gay community is enabled to fully participate in the social, economic, cultural, political and artistic life of the wider Cork and Kerry area
GCN (Gay Community News) GCN (Gay Community News) is Ireland's national monthly free gay magazine.
LGBT Ireland LGBT Ireland Supporting, Educating and Connecting to enhance LGBT lives.

LINC

TENI (Transgender Equality Network Ireland) Transgender Equality Network Ireland (TENI) seeks to improve conditions and advance the rights and equality of trans people and their families.

Contemporary sources. See also links list of resources

Europe

Council of Europe: Sexual Orientation & Gender Identity Unit The Council of Europe standards and mechanisms seek to promote and ensure respect for the human rights of every individual. These include equal rights and dignity of all human beings, including lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) persons.

Conferences worldwide

Gender Studies conferences worldwide List of conferences on gender studies (keyword search)

By infomatique [CC BY-SA 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

Irish Archives

Attic Press/Róisín Conroy Collection: Home
The Archives of Attic Press (BL/F/AP) were generated and collected by Róisín Conroy as co-founder and publisher of Attic Press and as an activist in the Irish Women's movement. They were deposited in the Boole Library, University College, Cork by Conroy in 1997.
Cork LGBT Archive
aims to preserve, digitise, share and display information in relation to the history of the LGBT communities in Cork, Ireland.
Irish Queer Archive (held by the National Library of ireland)
Irish Queer Archive papers, part of the collection of, comprising material relating to the National Gay Federation, the Gay and Lesbian Equality Network, Lesbians Organising Together, Out Magazine, Gay Games, Gay Health Action, Alternative Miss Ireland, the Women's Education Resource and Research Centre, the Dublin Lesbian and Gay Film Festival and papers of Charles Kerrigan, 1974-2005
LGBT Archive Collection
From Cork Folklore Project. The Project was established to document and preserve stories and memories of LGBT life in Cork City and County, with a focus prior to decriminalization in 1993.
National Archives of Ireland
The National Archives holds the records of the modern Irish State which document its historical evolution and the creation of our national identity.
RTE Archives
You can search the RTE archives for relevant topics to see TV footage and hear radio from the time. Check for further suggested content at the side of the screen.
University College Cork Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans* Society Archive, 1980-2008
Held in the National Library of Ireland

UCC LGBT Archive – NLI MS 49,655: a descriptive listing

Gay Cinema Resources

BFI British Film Institue
Free collection LGBT Britain - a selection of drama and documentaries.
the big queer film festival list
This list was created and is maintained by Mel Pritchard, queer shorts programmer and consultant. It's updated as often as possible.
Bright Lights Film Journal - LGBT & Queer
Bright Lights is one of the most widely read, quoted, and respected movie sites on the Web, mixing savvy pop reviews with in-depth analysis of current and classic, edgy and indie, international and experimental cinema – with wit and a political edge.
Gay Celluloid
home to hundreds of gay film reviews, plus loads of short film FreeViews. Gay Celluloid is not a complete reference source of every film in which a homosexual character is featured, but it has c. 800 film reviews, with new reviews always being added.

#FairviewParkPapers 1983

The #FairviewParkPapers1983 comprise approx. three hundred news(print) stories, fourteen broadcast media mentions and pages of video interview transcripts. They represent but a fraction of the quarter-million news clippings held in the IQA [Irish Queer Archive] collection.

Facebook Fairview Park Papers
Follow the Declan Flynn murder trial and its aftermath, the Fairview Park March, often called 'Ireland's Stonewall moment', in real-time on Facebook..throughout March and April [2018]
Twitter Fairview Park Papers 1983
and on Twitter
Instagram Fairview Park Papers 1983
and on Instagram

International Resources

Archives of the GLBTQ Encyclopedia
This encyclopedia was online from 2003-2015 and the archive is still available. Broad subject areas covered include literature, arta and social sciences and history. Entries include bibliographies - useful to exploring further.
How the Stonewall Riots sparked a movement
YouTube video from History Channel
Ireland - from the GLBTQ Encyclopedia archive
The glbtq encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture and history ran from 2003-2015. It included a variety of essays, a few interviews with contemporary figures, and, during its last few years of operation, a blog written by Claude Summers.
ONE Archives
from USC University of Southern California. The largest repository of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world.
ONE Archives online content
Click here to see content from the archive that is available online.
People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project from the History Department of Fordham University, New York.
Stonewall: A journey into the night that unleashed gay liberation
Article in [UK] Guardian by Ed Pilkington 20/06/2019
The Stonewall Riots Didn’t Start the Gay Rights Movement
Article from JStor

For those with access to Netflix, there are two documentaries on the service of interest:

The 34th

From the KAL (Katherine Zappone & Ann Louise Gilligan) case to a YES vote on 22nd May 2015, this documentary spans a decade culminating in the 34th amendment to the Irish constitution, allowing same sex marriage. From COCO Television, Dublin

"The death and life of Marsha P. Johnson"

Victoria Cruz investigates the mysterious 1992 death of black gay rights activist and Stonewall veteran, Marsha P. Johnson. Using archival interviews with Johnson, and new interviews with Johnson's family, friends and fellow activists. Netflix original documentary

LGBT Studies: Useful Web Sources

NEW! Christopher Robson’s photographs (Held by the National Library of ireland)