Music: Sound & Digital Repositories

Research Institute Library - provides links to Bach Bibliography, Bach Digital and more

Bibliography of Music Online (German) provides bibliographic data from 1950 to the present. It includes monographs, articles and reviews from journals, Festschriften, congress proceedings, yearbooks, anthologies and essays from critical reports. Main sources for the BMS editorial staff are national bibliographies, journals, monographs and subject bibliographies. Furthermore, contributions from journals with an interdiscplinary view on music are considered for inclusion.

The AHRC Research Centre for the History and Analysis of Recorded Music

DHO:Discovery is a gateway to Irish digital collections and resources, information and knowledge.
Although, the activities of the Digital Humanities Observatory ceased (31 August 2013 with no further updates to collections or development of new data visualisations) it is still hosted, and provides access to Irish research collections.

Explore 319,714 music recordings, pieces of sheet music and other music items from across Europe

Includes links to collections, research and the Beethoven Gateway

Currently 51 digitised collections, covering many aspects of music

Search for current and past research projects in the field of music - check out the outcomes tab of past projects.

International Inventory of Musical Sources (RISM) the world's largest database of musical sources

the most comprehensive repository of materials relating to the history of rock and roll. Their mission is to collect, preserve, and provide access to these resources for scholars, educators, students, journalists, and the general public in order to broaden awareness and understanding of rock and roll, its roots, and its impact on our society.

includes an option to search by a map of the world

The Contemporary Music Centre (CMC) is Ireland's archive and resource centre for new music, supporting the work of composers throughout the Republic and Northern Ireland.

The role of ITMA is to collect, preserve, organise and make accessible the contemporary and historical materials of Irish traditional song, instrumental music and dance.

Cecilia is IAML (UK & Ireland)’s online searchable database of descriptions of music collections in libraries, archives and museums throughout the UK and Ireland

The Rory Gallagher Music Library provides music books, scores, CDs and DVDs, in all genres, classical, choral, traditional, jazz, contemporary, rock & pop for lending, reference and archival purposes.

This archive of Irish dialect sound recordings made during 1928-31 contains folktales, songs and other material recited by native Irish speakers from 17 counties.

comprises the recordings, documents and images collected by Comhaltas Ceoltóirí Éireann during our 50 years of promoting Irish music and culture.

exists to promote Irish musicological scholarship. Hence, one of its main goals is the presentation of musicological work related to Ireland. This notion encompasses, besides topics concerning Ireland and its music, articles by Irish authors or by authors based in Ireland, although is not intended to exclude contributions of other kinds.

attempting to document as many Irish rock bands as possible, concentrating on the period 1966-1991.

Explore the Ward Irish Music Archives' award-winning digital collections. From cylinder recordings of Irish musicians in Chicago dating to 1904 to the latest videos from last year's Milwaukee Irish Fest, you'll be able to experience Irish music in various genres throughout its history.

The Digital Repository of Ireland is a national digital repository for Ireland’s humanities, social sciences, and cultural heritage data. You can browse and search across multiple collections from some of the finest Irish institutions

from Cork City Libraries. Includes information on Fleischmann's life, compositions, writings, Fleischmann Centenary Celebrations 2010 (Including audio), images and selection of letters.

Biographical resource of violin and bow makers

The British Library has a world-famous collection of printed and manuscript music, music recordings, concert programmes and books and periodicals on music.

A joint project between the Internet Archive and MusicBrainz, whose goal is to make cover art images available to everyone on the Internet in an organised and convenient way. Images in the archive are curated by the MusicBrainz community and go through a peer review process to ensure that they are correct, free of spam and of the best quality. All images are copyrighted by their respective copyright owners.

from the American Musicology Society; an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.

a leading resource for the study of medieval manuscripts - images and metadata for thousands of manuscripts. Also a home for scholarly resources and editions.

The DME wishes to provide access to the complete works of Wolfgang Amadé Mozart (1756–1791) in digital format via the internet for study and performance purposes.

Information on the fundamentals of jazz theory from Marc Sabatella (jazz pianist, composer, and educator)

s. Musopen provide recordings, sheet music, and music education resources to the public for free, without copyright restrictions

over 20 FREE jazz piano lessons. In-depth lessons on jazz piano chords, jazz piano scales and jazz chord progressions.

Holding over 2,500 pieces of historical and contemporary musical instruments from all over the world, the Stearns Collection of Musical Instruments is one of the largest accumulations of such artifacts housed in a North American university.

Archive of all things avant-garde, including music.

England’s national folk music and dance archive, an essential resource for anybody interested in the folk arts

Listen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound, including classical,popular and world and traditional music.

australianscreen is operated by the National Film and Sound Archive (NFSA). The NFSA is the national audiovisual archive, collecting, preserving and sharing the nation’s moving image and recorded sound heritage.
It is a promotional and educational resource providing worldwide online access to information about the Australian film and television industry.

The Sound Recordings catalog comprises over 17,400 digital audio files, beginning with Lomax’s first recordings onto (newly invented) tape in 1946 and tracing his career into the 1990s.

First and foremost, the World Music Library is the story of an encounter, a historical drama of many acts and stages, centuries in the making. The narrative begins with the seizure of the Americas and follows the evolution of European colonialism all the way to today’s present global economy. It can be told from many perspectives, most of them tragic. There is one thread of the story which brings no sorrow to the amateur historian, however, and that is music. From the arrival of the first slave-bearing ship to the Americas, to the creation of of rock and roll, music has stood as an unwavering testimony to resilience and joy. It is living defiance, it is the measure of our pulse.