Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Music: Special Collections

Selected for President’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching 2016/17

Listen to Dr Malgorzata D'Aughton (School of History) & Dr Jillian Rogers (Dept. of Music) discussing their selection for a President's Award for Excellence in Teaching 2016/2017, specifically for innovative pedagogies and embedding research in the curriculum. They were particularly keen to point out the role that their collaboration with UCC Library plays in their teaching and research.

Guides for Special Collections

For information on Special Collections see here.

Music module and course guides on specific areas of Special Collections:

  • MU 2012: Music-making & the Middle Classes in 19th Century Europe
  • MU 2036: Collectors, Collections & Fieldwork in Irish Traditional Music
  • MA in Music
  • MU 6031: Sound Studies & Musicology

Music Collections

Collection: Older Printed Books

The collection was established in the 1970s by withdrawing items published before 1851 from the Library’s general holdings. Most of these items were purchased between 1849 (when the College was founded) and 1900; some were received from institutions such as the Royal Cork Institution, the old Cork Public Library and the Royal Irish Academy. It contains c13,000 volumes, including almost 2,000 volumes of folio and elephant folio size. The main subject coverage is history: Irish, English and European; philology, palaeography, literature, music, philosophy, natural sciences and medicine are also represented. The majority of items are from the 18th and 19th centuries with a small portion from the 16th and 17th centuries.

Item: Moore, Thomas. Young Love: a ballad. London : J. Power, [18--?]

Collection: O Riada

Seán Ó Riada (1931–71) was a composer and lecturer in University College Cork (1963 – 1971). This is Ó Riada’s personal library. 

Item: King, A Hyatt. Four hundred years of music printing. London: British Museum, 1968.

Collection: Bax

Arnold Bax (1883-1953) was Master of the King's Musick (1941-1953), a composer and a poet. He died while visiting Cork as extern examiner in October 1953. This collection c.380 items comprises some of his own compositions, a portion of his library, some of his letters and some personal effects. 

Item: Lambert, Herbert. Modern British Composers: seventeen portraits. With a foreword on contemporary British music by Eugene Goossens. London: F. & B. Goodwin, 1923.

Collection: Noel O'Connell

This is the personal collection of Noel O'Connell (1929-1991) who established a successful engineering consultancy in London and developed a course in Irish Studies at Kilburn Polytechnic. He also contributed hugely to several London-based Irish societies, including the Irish Texts Society, of which he was Honorary Secretary, and the Irish Literary Society, of which he was President for many years. This is reflected in his collection. See this display for more about the music in the collection. 

Item: Fox, Charlotte Milligan. Four Irish Songs. Words by Edith Wheeler and Alice Milligan; the Connacht Caoine (in Irish) by Tadhg O Donnchadha; illustrated by Seaghan MacCathmhaiol (John Campbell). Dublin : Maunsel, [19--]. [Noel O'Connell Collection]

Spotlight

     

A selection showing the various items relating to Richard Henebry in Special Collections. For more information relating to Richard Henebry see the digital collection on Henebry / O'Neill Wax Cylinders