UCC Library: Philosophy: Journals and Databases

Journals and eJournals

Find specific electronic & print journals by searching the Journal Portal (Search 'Journals' from the Library homepage)

Browse Philosophy and Religion journals to get an idea of what is available.

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Top Multidisciplinary Databases

EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
This is an A-Z list of all subscribed and complimentary databases available via EBSCO. To search within a single database, click the database name. To select more than one database to search, check the boxes next to the databases and click Continue.
Full Text Availability: Please note that, in some databases, there may be an embargo by the publisher on providing full text access to recent journal issues and the older issues may provide abstracts only.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is an aggregated full-text database with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. It serves as an important resource for researchers at all levels. As well as providing access to millions of full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, it provides access to information not available in other aggregated resources such as hundreds of important, full text U.S., Canadian and International Newspapers including exclusive access to the full text of The Wall Street Journal and Los Angeles Times.
Includes 47 databases.
Thousands of full text dissertations in the areas of business, psychology, physical sciences, health, education and more, helping end users build a more robust results set. Concise business information from thousands of market reports across 43 industries in 40 countries, spanning the UK, Western Europe, Eastern Europe, Asia Pacific, North America, and Latin America. It covers 175 subjects including Business and Economics, Health and Medicine, News and World Affairs, Science, Education, Technology, Humanities, Social Sciences, Psychology, Literature and many more.

The key Philosophy databases are:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
Access is available to the following collections: the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection, the Arts and Sciences I to XV Collections, Business IV Collection, Global Plants Collection, Hebrew Journals Collection, the Ireland Collection, the Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, Public Health Journals Collection, Security Studies Collection and Sustainability Collection.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index includes more than 530,000 records in 37 languages and is updated quarterly. Extensive indexing includes personal and proper names along with subject terms; there is also the capability to search for the authors of book reviews.
Coverage: 1940 - current
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.

Additional online resources

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
This resource supports the research, teaching and study of philosophy and related disciplines.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Also available are the full list of databases available at UCC Library. Under Database Types, go to Open Access and look at Project Guthenberg eBook Collection

If you need help using any of these databases please contact your liaison librarian c.clehane@ucc.ie

Theses & Newspapers

For access to UCC theses and theses from other Universities refer to the Theses Guide. For information about Newspapers in UCC Library, and newspapers available through Library databases, see the Newspapers Guide.

Reference Sources

The reference books below are available in UCC Library

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy by Simon Blackburn
ISBN: 9780199541430
Publication Date: Available online
A Dictionary of Continental Philosophy by John Protevi (Editor)
ISBN: 9780300116052
Publication Date: 2006-03-08
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by Michael Kelly (Editor)
ISBN: 0195113071
Publication Date: 1998-08-20
Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Routledge Staff; Edward Craig (Editor)
ISBN: 0415223644
Publication Date: 1999-12-28
.