Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Philosophy: Books and eBooks

Library Resources for Philosophy

How to Find a Book

Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks. Note:

  1. Location: what floor it is on
  2. Call number: where it is shelved - see the book's spine
  3. Status: is it available or currently on loan?

For help, see:

See also: How do I find a book?

Can't find the book you are looking for? Just  ask the library staff.

Sourcing Books from Other Libraries

If you need a book that UCC Library does not have you can:

WorldCat: great free resource for discovering items held in other libraries.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Recommend a Book for the Library

You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase. Click here and log in to your Library Account.

Books for Philosophy

UCC Library uses the Dewey Decimal system.

Use the Library Catalogue to locate books.

You can search the catalogue below:

Getting Started with New Topics

Example of a range of titles of encyclopedias or handbooks in Philosophy in UCC library catalogue

eBooks

Most of UCC Library's eBooks can be located through the Library catalogue. A 'view online' link is provided to the eBook,  for  example:

eBook Collections for Philosophy

ACLS Humanities eBooks online collection of over 3,300 e-books  in the Humanities

Early English Books Online a research collection of titles from 1475-1700-includes philosophy

Eighteenth Century Collections Online digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera printed between 1701 and 1800. Covers the fields of history, literature, philosophy religion, law, fine arts, science and more

Oxford Reference Online  includes Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy

It is also possible to keyword search eBook databases. For a full list of these (for all subject areas) see here

New Books

Would you like to be alerted by email to new books received in the Library in your subject area? Just log into your Library Account on the Library Catalogue and save your search. See the instructions for Preferred Searches and email alerts here.  

Borrow these Books from the Library