UCC Library: Physics: Databases & Repositories

Open Access Databases

For a list of Open Access databases, please go to our Database portal. Select Open Access from All Database Types drop down menu.

De Gruyter Open
De Gruyter Open (formerly Versita) is one of the world’s leading publishers of open access scientific content. Today De Gruyter Open (DGO) publishes about 600 own and third-party scholarly journals across all major disciplines.
Bentham Open
Bentham Science publishes over 230 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all major disciplines of science, technology, medicine & social science.
arXiv - Cornell University
It provides open access to 1,158,751 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance & Statistics.

Databases subscribed by the library

IOPscience
IOPscience offers researchers more than 140 years of IOP Publishing content, extending back to 1874. It includes some of the most vital scientific, technical and medical research published, in one fully integrated resource.
ScienceDirect

The resource provides full text access to over 2,500 journals and over 190 UCC purchased books in all disciplines published by Elsevier Science.

Most journal coverage dates back to 1995. However, backfiles are available for the following titles:

Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications (1959-1994)
Chemical Physics (1973-1994)
Chemical Physics Letters (1967-1994)
Journal of Chromatography A (1958-1994)
Journal of Chromatography B: Biomedical Sciences and Applications (1977-1994)
Nuclear Physics B (1967-1994)
Tetrahedron (1957-1994)
Tetrahedron: Asymmetry (1990-1994)
Tetrahedron Letters (1959-1994)
Scopus

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities — Scopus delivers the broadest overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information.
Web of Science Core Collection
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities and navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.

Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.
JSTOR

JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.

Access is available to the following collections: the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection, the Arts and Sciences I to XV Collections, Business IV Collection, Global Plants Collection, Hebrew Journals Collection, the Ireland Collection, the Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, Public Health Journals Collection, Security Studies Collection and Sustainability Collection.
Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content dating back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Physical Review Journals
This resource provides access to the journals published by the APS as well as to PROLA, the Physical Reviews Online Archive. Archival access is available to all APS titles, dating as far back as 1893.

Data Repositories in Astrophysics & Physics

CORA
The Cork Open Research Archive, from University College Cork gives you free open access to UCC's scholarly and scientific research publications and theses.
FairSharing
A curated, informative and educational resource on data and metadata standards, inter-related to databases and data policies.
Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data.org)
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.

more... less...

It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.
ResearchGate
ResearchGate is the largest professional network for scientists and researchers. This free and open access scientific platform enables members to collaborate with their colleagues and peers worldwide, using numerous features that are unique to ResearchGate.
Astronomical Data Archive Centre (Japan)
from the National Astronomical Observatory of Japan.
Astrophysics Data System (USA)
From the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory & National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA).
Canadian Astronomy Data Centre
From the National Research Council of Canada, specialising in data mining, data processing, data distribution and data transferring of very large astronomical datasets.
National Space Science Data Co-ordinated Archive (USA)
NASA's archive for space science mission data.
HEPData (UK)
This new site replaces the old site at http://hepdata.cedar.ac.uk. This is a unique open access repository for scattering data from experimental particle physics.

more... less...

It comprises of the data points from plots and tables related to several thousand publications including those from the Large Hadron Collider (LHC).
CERN Articles and reprints
The Articles & Preprints collection aims to cover as far as possible the published and pre-published literature in particle physics and its related technologies. The collection contains about 400,000 documents, out of which about 50% can be accessed electronically.
NIST Atomic Spectra Database (USA)
The Atomic Spectra Database contains data for radiative transitions and energy levels in atoms and atomic ions. Data are included for observed transitions of 99 elements and energy levels of 56 elements.
HEASARC (NASA)
The High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Centre is the primary archive for NASA and other space agencies. The HEASARC archive contains data obtained by high-energy astronomy missions observing in the extreme-ultraviolet (EUV), X-ray, and gamma-ray bands, as well as data from space missions, balloons, and ground-based facilities.
CHANDRA X-Ray Observatory (USA)
The CDA offers access to digital archives through powerful query engines, including VO-compliant interfaces and also serves as a permanent storage repository of contributed data products by authors who have processed images or other pertinent and valuable datasets that are essential to their publications. Please acknowledge if you use Chandra resources.