UCC Library: Plant Science: E-Books & Databases & Repositories

E-Books

Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new window
BHL is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.

BIOSIS Previews covers the period from 1980 to 2009.
Features include:
> Search across journals, meetings, patents, and books.
> Search precisely using key terms and controlled terminology in context using fields including biochemistry, genes, and taxonomic data.
De Gruyter Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
De Gruyter is home to around 100 fully open access journals across STEM and HSS disciplines.
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
This resource contains over 88,000 academic peer-reviewed books.
Earth & Environmental Science eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
UCC Library has previously purchased full text access to 234 titles in the 2012 Earth & Environmental Science eBook Collection. This additional collection offers access to over 2,200 titles, which were published during the period 2021- 2024.

This resource is available until July 2025.
IntechOpen This link opens in a new window
This resource contains more than 7,000 Open Access books and scientific works in the areas of science, technology and medicine.

Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities — Scopus delivers the broadest overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities and navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.
Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
The resource provides full text access to over 2,500 journals and over 180 UCC purchased books in all disciplines published by Elsevier Science.
Most journal coverage dates back to 1995. However, backfiles are available for the following titles:

Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications (1959-1994)
Chemical Physics (1973-1994)
Chemical Physics Letters (1967-1994)
Journal of Chromatography A (1958-1994)
Journal of Chromatography B: Biomedical Sciences and Applications (1977-1994)
Nuclear Physics B (1967-1994)
Tetrahedron (1957-1994)
Tetrahedron: Asymmetry (1990-1994)
Tetrahedron Letters (1959-1994)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
Access is available to the following collections: the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection, the Arts and Sciences I to XV Collections, Business IV Collection, Global Plants Collection, Hebrew Journals Collection, the Ireland Collection, the Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, Public Health Journals Collection, Security Studies Collection and Sustainability Collection.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content dating back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
nature.com This link opens in a new window
Springer Nature publishes content across the life, physical and applied sciences and, most recently, clinical medicine.
Content encompasses expert opinion, practical methodology and more high impact research and reviews than any science publisher.

Data Repositories for Plant Science

CORA
The Cork Open Research Archive, from University College Cork gives you free open access to UCC's scholarly and scientific research publications and theses.
Discipline Based Data Archives (List)
A list of Data Archives by disciplines maintained by the Univ of Minnesota.
Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data.org)
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.
more...less...
It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.
FigShare
FigShare allows the researcher to share all the data, negative results and unpublished figures, which it hopes other researchers can build on to start new research or can open up collaboration opportunities.
KNB
The Knowledge Network for Biocomplexity is an international data repository containing ecology, biology and environmental science data with a global distribution.
TreeBASE
TreeBASE is a repository of phylogenetic information, specifically user-submitted phylogenetic trees and the data used to generate them. TreeBASE accepts all kinds of phylogenetic data (e.g., trees of species, trees of populations, trees of genes) representing all biotic taxa.
The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR)
TAIR collects information and maintains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for Arabidopsis thaliana, a widely used model plant.
MaizeGDB
MaizeGDB is a community-oriented, long-term, federally funded informatics service to researchers focused on the crop plant and model organism Zea mays.