UCC Library: Applied Psychology: Journals & Databases

Journals and eJournals

Find specific electronic & print journals by searching the Journal Portal (Search 'Journals' from the Library homepage)

Browse Psychology journals to get an idea of what is available.

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Databases

Top Multidisciplinary Databases

EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
This is an A-Z list of all subscribed and complimentary databases available via EBSCO. To search within a single database, click the database name. To select more than one database to search, check the boxes next to the databases and click Continue.
Full Text Availability: Please note that, in some databases, there may be an embargo by the publisher on providing full text access to recent journal issues and the older issues may provide abstracts only.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
This is an A-Z list of most of our ProQuest databases. These resources provide access to millions of full text articles from thousands of scholarly journals, as well as access to more than 50,000 full text dissertations.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities — Scopus delivers the broadest overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities, as well as navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.
Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.

For the full list of UCC Library's Databases see: A-Z list of databases

Subject specific databases for Applied Psychology:

Proquest Psychology Database

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is published by the American Psychological Association and contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and descriptive information across a wide variety of scholarly publications in the behavioural and social sciences.

Annual Reviews

Health & Medical Sciences databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Availability of full text: please note that there may be an embargo by the publisher on providing full text to recent journal issues. Older issues may only have abstracts available.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
National licence sponsored by HRB, Ireland and R&D Office, NI
The Cochrane Library provides reliable information from other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE ® is produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Coverage: 1946 - current
Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide.
PubMed This link opens in a new window

For a fuller listing of databases in this area, see the subject support page

Useful Resources for Systematic Reviews

Systematic Reviews & Other Review Types

Acknowledgments: All Aboard; Campbell Collaboration Library; Temple University Libraries

To save your search in OneSearch

google scholar

For access to UCC theses and theses from other Universities refer to the Theses Guide. For information about Newspapers in UCC Library, and newspapers available through Library databases, see the Newspapers Guide.