Skip to main content

Theatre: Getting Started

Spotlight on

[E-book]  The Theatre of Martin McDonagh : ‘A World of Savage Stories’ by Lilian Chambers and Eamonn Jordan.

The book is a vital response to the many challenges set by McDonagh for those involved in the production and reception of his work. Critics and commentators from around the world offer a diverse range of often provocative approaches.

Related Subject Guides

Using your Student Card in UCC Library

Introduction to Theatre at UCC Library

This guide aims to provide information on key resources for Theatre in University College Cork Library.The tabs at the top of the page will help you find:

  • Books & e-books
  • Journals & databases
  • Recordings - DVDs & Online
  • Theses
  • Useful websites


OneSearch searches across a lot of the Library print AND electronic resources at the same time, including:

  • Library Catalogue
  • Journals
  • Databases
  • Books, eBooks
  • Newspaper articles
  • Theses

Information on how to use OneSearch

Special Collections in UCC Library

Important collections of rare & older material. Collections relating to Theatre include:

•    16th – 19th century: Older Printed Books. This collection includes individual and collected editions of John Lyly, Ben Jonson, John Webster, Christopher Marlowe and Shakespeare. Do a subject search for ‘English drama -- Early modern and Elizabethan’ to find out more. 

•    Anglo-Irish Literature and Culture: Daniel Corkery, Gerald Goldberg and Nancy McCarthy

•    Book history & design: Friedlander Collection, Cuala, Dolmen and Three Candles Presses

To discover how these items can be used in assignments & research read Dr Edel Semple’s blog post on Shakespeare’s Sources. 

See also the Guide for Special Collections

UCC Library News

Loading ...

Department of Theatre

News from UCC Department of Theatre