Loida Garcia-Febo is a Puerto Rican American librarian based in New York City. She is currently pursuing her doctorate in LIS. Loida is an International Library Consultant working with governments, organizations and libraries. She has worked as an academic, public, school, and special librarian in Puerto Rico and New York. She is an expert in library services to diverse populations and human rights.
Pat Mehigan MSc, BEng, CEM is the UCC Energy Manager and is tasked with working with staff and students to reduce the energy consumption across the University. Through our ISO 50001 energy management systems Pat works with our significant energy users to manage their energy use through operational control, building awareness campaigns and implementing energy efficiency upgrades.
Martin O'Driscoll is the Library Spaces Co-Ordinator for UCC Library. His current role is the development of technology rich leaning and teaching spaces in UCC Library. He has worked in UCC Library for over 20 years and has held many roles. Most recently he was the Senior Library Assistant at the Library Services Desk. He has been involved with the Library Sustainability team since its inception and has been involved in implementing the library sustainability initiatives.
John Akeroyd is Principal Consultant CIBER Research/Honorary Research Fellow at University College London. John is a library and information specialist with over 40 years’ experience in libraries, government and academia. For the past decade, he has been a consultant, researcher and programme manager. He has authored over 100 papers and speaks regularly at international meetings
Selenay Aytac is an academic librarian at Long Island University New York, USA and has a PhD in Information science, Masters degrees in Environmental Sustainability, Education, and Business. Her research interest includes but not limited to scientific productivity, bibliometrics, information literacy, and environmental sustainability.
Sophie Bobet - nominated for IFLA Best Green Library Project: France Paris Médiathèque de la Canopée-la fontaine, Paris La Médiathèque de la Canopée : a pilot library for sustainable development for the Parisian network. Dr Sophie Bobet is from Paris and has a PhD in Art History from the Sorbonne, Paris. Sophie has worked in the Bibliothèque nationale de France in conservation and numerization for Gallica, and currently works as Canopée’s Library Director in the Ville de Paris where she specifically manages with collective intelligence adapting to contemporary issues including the Green Library.
Jacqueline Breidlid has been working at the German Libraries Association in the field of Political Communications since September 2019. Prior to this she lived in Brussels where she was responsible for social, educational and gender policies and regulations at the European Free Trade Association (EFTA). She has a Master`s degree in Political Sciences/ International Relations from the College of Europe in Bruges, Belgium. Jacqueline Breidlid has a keen interest in sustainability, copyright and cultural and educational issues.
Núria Flò - nominated for IFLA Best Green Library Award: Spain Barcelona Collserola – Josep Miracle Library "Biblionatura Collserola Library. A green proposal in the City of Barcelona". Núria Flò is from Barcelona where her studies are in Pedagogy and Information and Documentation. She started to work in Biblioteques de Barcelona in 2002 as an assistant technician. In 2008 Núria became the director.
Ornella Foglieni holds a Degree in Humanities; her specialization is History of medieval/modern art. She is Librarian and archivist. Her professional career took place in the Regione Lombardia Government as director of a sector of libraries, archives, cultural institutions, documentary Cultural Heritage. She collaborates at national level on Preservation / Conservation (emergency, legal deposit, digitization).
Petra Hauke holds a Ph.D. in Library and Information Science. She serves as lecturer at the Berlin School for Library and Information Science. Petra is currently secretary of ENSULIB. She is also a founding member of the German-speaking "Green Library Network". Beside others her main specific expertise is about Green Libraries.
Carolain Arcos Huertas - nominated for IFLA Best Green Library Project: Colombia Cali Comuna 1 Cultural Center Public Library "Library Project The Neighborhood Path." Carolain Arcos Huertas lives in the city of Cali-Colombia. She is a professional in Recreation and Master in Literature. She is currently Coordinator of the Public Library Comuna 1 Cultural Center.
Yana Karshiyska - nominated for IFLA Best Green Library Award: Bulgaria Burgas Regional Library “P. K. Yavorov” „Communal BiblioBurgas“. Yana Karshiyska holds a bachelor degree in "Library science and Bibliography" and a master degree in "Information technology and information brokerage" and a retraining in "Sustainable telecentre development". She is the director of the Burgas Regional Library since 2019.
Dr Christie Koontz teaches marketing at the Florida State University, Tallahassee, Florida, and San Jose State, California USA. Her research identified differences in use patterns amongst communities for more equitable service provision using geographic information systems. Longtime member of IFLA—offering marketing workshops around the globe. Author of recent “Marketing and Social Media: a Guide for Libraries, Archives, and Museums.”
Aleksander Kristung - nominated for IFLA Best Green Library Project: Norway Lier Lier bibliotek The fish that take root. Aleksander Kristung comes from a small town east of Oslo, Norway. He holds bachleor degree in the history of ideas, University in Oslo, in library and information studies, and a masters in leadership, both from OsloMet. He has worked in library and archive sector the last 15 years. Currently he is library manager of Lier library.
Camille Le Lann - nominated for IFLA Best Green Library Project: France TOURC’H Médiathèque Mouezh ar galon A shared garden library to develop biodiversity. Camille Le Lann comes from Brittany, a region in France. She holds a master degrees in art, culture and libraries. She is specialized in project management in library network: building libraries, digital, animation and communication. Now she is assistant director in cultural development and libraries.
Martha Lerski is Librarian at the Leonard Lief Library at Lehman College of the City University of New York. Martha serves as Liaison to the Business School and to the Art Department. Originally from San Francisco, she is a long-time resident of NYC. Her research focuses on Climate Change and Cultural Heritage.
Lin Li is from Singapore and has a Masters of Science in Information Studies and a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics. Lin is Director of the Partnership Division: engagement and relationship management, as well as managing libraries and logistics. Lin set up the Green Library for Kids in 2013 at the Central Public Library in Singapore to promote sustainability. The National Library Board (NLB) Singapore nurtures Readers for Life, Learning Communities and a Knowledgeable Nation by promoting reading, learning and history through its network of 28 public libraries (including the Chua Chu Kang Public Library), the National Library and the National Archives of Singapore.
Anna Merlo comes from Genova, Italy. She holds a Doctor in Political Sciences at the Genova University. Anna is Specialist in Information Retrieval and Information Technology. She is also CEO at Cenfor International, a leading Company in Italy in Information Sciences. She is now working in accessibility and inclusion for information in libraries
Maria McCauley - nominated for IFLA Best Green Library Award: USA Boston, MA Valente Branch Library Cambridge Public Library – Valente Branch "William Rawn Associates, Architects, Inc. in association with Arrowstreet". Maria McCauley comes from Cambridge Massachusetts, United States. She holds a Bachelor of Arts, and a Master of Library and Information Science a PhD in Leadership Studies. Maria is the Director of Libraries for the City of Cambridge. Maria is the current President of the Public Library Association.
Sindu Maliakal Meier - nominated for IFLA Best Green Library Award: USA Boston, MA Valente Branch Library Cambridge Public Library – Valente Branch "William Rawn Associates, Architects, Inc. in association with Arrowstreet". Sindu Maliakal Meier is an architect. She serves as a Library Trustee for the town of Milton, MA and sits on the board of the Boston Society of Architects. Sindu is committed to helping civic and private institutions create welcoming and inclusive environments for all.
Carolina Muñoz - Nominated for IFLA Best Green Library Award: Colombia Cali, La Leonera Cultural Center Public Library La Leonera Cultural Center Public Library 2022 - Carolina Muñoz comes from the city of Cali in the rural area of La Leonera. Her professional training is technical labour competence in animation, recreation and sports and currently studying technical labour competence in early childhood. Carolina serves as the Librarian of the Cultural Centre of La Leonera.
Katharina Portugal has a bachelor's degree from the University of Vienna in German studies and Theater, Film and Media Studies. Since 2015, she has been a staff member at the Austrian Library Association. There she was responsible for the association's journal and was involved in reading promotion projects. Currently she is working in the area of communication and cooperation.
Priscilla Pun is Head of Technical Process of University of Macau Library in Macao, China. Her expertise include metadata management, information literacy and etc. She is the Chief Supervisor of Macao Library and Information Management Association, Member of the Information Literacy Committee, Library Society of China, and Information Coordinator of ENSULIB.
Harri Sahavirta holds a Ph.D. He works as a chief librarian at Helsinki City Library, Finland. In addition, he is the chair of ENSULIB in IFLA (2021-2023). He has studied philosophy in University of Helsinki and his other areas of expertise are sustainability and libraries, promotion of adults literacy and reading as well as library soundscapes.
Lin Li Soh - nominated for IFLA Best Green Library Award: Singapore Singapore National Library Board, Singapore Revamp of Choa Chu Kang Public Library WEE. Lin Lil Soh comes from Singapore. She holds a Masters of Science in Information Studies and Bachelor of Science in Mathematics. Her institutional background is the National Library Board (NLB) Singapore that nurtures Readers for Life, Learning Communities and a Knowledgeable Nation by promoting reading, learning and history through its network of 28 public libraries, the National Library and the National Archives of Singapore. She has set up the Green Library for Kids in 2013 at the Central Public Library in Singapore to promote sustainability.
Leila Sonkkanen comes from Helsinki City Library, Finland. Since 2007 her library work includes to coordinate Helsinki City Library's environmental work as a sustainable development coordinator. In this eco-position she has represented Helsinki City Library in different working groups as well as achieved some awards. She has also coordinated two national environmental sustainability projects for public libraries.
René Tanner is the Head of Research Services and a Science Librarian at Rollins College in Florida. She is a past chair of the Sustainability Round Table and the past co-chair of the Special Task Force on Sustainability for the American Library Association.
Hans A. Vigen holds Master degrees in Finance and Management. He is CEO at the Biblioteksentralen, a library service company in Norway, owned by municipalities, selling media, metadata, self service equipment, furniture and more for more than 70 years.
Viviana Vitari lives in Bergamo, Italy, in an ancient borough, inspiring her expertise in writing, for fun and professional purposes. Viviana attended academic studies in theology, philosophy of science and eventually lifelong learning, interculture and multimedia. She works in a public library, head of a sector named “Quality of life”.
Stéphanie Weisser - nominated for IFLA Best Green Library Project: Belgium Jette BiblioJette and BibJette Adopt a plant at your public library: the Plantotek project. As part of a career change, Stéphanie Weisser recently earned her BA in Librarian-Documentalist from the IESSID (Brussels, Belgium, which is her home town). Stéphanie is currently working part-time as librarian and plant librarian in the BiblioJette, the French-Speaking public library in Jette (northwest of Brussels).
Elisabetta Zonca comes from Bergamo, Italy. She holds a Ph.D in Book Studies. She serves as Special collections curator at Biblioteca dell’Accademia di architettura, Mendrisio. She is member of the Commissione nazionale biblioteche speciali, archivi e biblioteche d’autore (AIB) and now working in develpoment of digital repository and arrangement of archival fonds.
