Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Acquisitions: Serials Acquisitions

Ordering books, eBooks, serials

Serials & Online Resources at UCC Library

The Library's Acquisitions section manages the Library's subscriptions to serial publications, both print and electronic. UCC Library provides access to a wide range of electronic journals and databases, and enables access to electronic resources available through the Irish Research eLibrary (IReL).

Under the terms of Copyright legislation, UCC Library is entitled to receive a copy of every publication produced in the Republic of Ireland. Consequently, the Library acquires a significant collection of Irish serial publications, including Irish Government publications and Irish Official publications. UCC Library receives a range of European Official Publications through donation.

Irish Research eLibrary (IReL)

IReL, the Irish Research eLibrary is a nationally funded electronic research library. 

What is available? IReL delivers quality peer-reviewed online research publications - journals, databases, eBook collections. All of the IReL resources are available through UCC Library's Databases pages.

You can find a full listing of IReL resources here.

IReL also seeks to secure open access agreements with publishers.

Suggestions for new online resources and serials

Suggestions for new journals, databases and other subscriptions can be channelled through the 'Library Representatives' or by contacting Acquisitions. In many cases a trial of the resource will be arranged in the first instance before a subscription is considered.

Note that VAT is applied to journals, databases, microfilm, etc. at 9%.

Electronic Resources: access and usage

UCC Library provides access to a large range of electronic resources to support you in your studies, teaching and research. Use of the electronic resources is subject to copyright law and licence agreements that UCC signs with the electronic resource providers.

 A full listing of Databases is available on the Library website, and all of our serial titles are listed on the Library Catalogue, including links to e-journals.

Queries regarding online access & usage can be emailed to libraryresources@ucc.ie