UCC Library uses the 'Dewey Decimal' system. 900 is the main general section for History and Geography. Specific subjects are then broken down within the 900s e.g. The main classification number for Archaeology in UCC Library is:
930.1 History of the Ancient World. Books at these numbers are shelved on the Q+3 Floor.
Other books of interest to Archaeology may be located within sections on Art (700s), Architecture (710s), zoology (590s) etc. depending on the subject matter.
Use the Library Catalogue to locate books.
f is used to denote a larger (folio) book which won't fit on the main shelves. They will be found in the Folio section - these shelves are clearly marked Folio.
Would you like to be alerted by email to new books received in the Library in your subject area? Just log into your Library Account on the Library Catalogue and save your search. See instructions for Preferred Searches and email alerts.
You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase. Click here and fill out the e-proposal form.
Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks. Note:
Location: what floor it is on
Call number: where it is shelved - see the book's spine
Status: is it available or currently on loan?
You can choose to search for e-books only on the E-journals & E-books page - see:
Or browse by Subject (choose ebooks) on the same page - see:
Most of UCC Library's eBooks can be located through the Library Catalogue. A 'view online' link is provided to the e-book, example:
It is also possible to do a keyword search e-book databases. E-book databases relevant for Archaeology include:
This resource is an online collection of over 6,300 scholarly books of high quality in the Humanities. ACLS HEB is a collection curated by scholars for scholars. This collection was launched online in September 2002.
The Ebook Central resource now incorporates a subscription to the Academic Complete titles package, which provides UCC Library with full text access to over 239,000 ebooks, across a broad range of subject areas.
This resource provides access to more than 100,000 articles, plus an expansive collection of multimedia including images, videos, audio, interactives, and infographics.
By AndieW [CC BY-SA 4.0
(https://creativecommons.org/
licenses/by-sa/4.0)],
from Wikimedia Commons
