It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides bibliographic references - many with abstracts - covering all aspects of archaeology and the historic environment, and every chronological period, with a geographical focus on Britain and Ireland
The British Archaeological Association (BAA) was founded in 1843 to promote the study of archaeology, art and architecture and the preservation of British antiquities. It encourages original research and publishes new work on the history of architecture, art and antiquities of Roman to post-medieval date.
The principle aim of the Society is "to foster public understanding of the material and literary past, to support research and communicate the results, and to facilitate in the formulation of public policy on the care of our cultural heritage"
The Academy Library is an important research centre for the study of Irish history, language, archaeology and the history of Irish science. Home to the Cathach, the sixth-century Latin psalter reputed to have been copied by St Colum Cille (Columba), our repository houses the largest collection of Irish language manuscripts in the world, including Lebor na hUidre (the Book of the Dun Cow), the oldest extant manuscript completely in Irish. We are longterm partners in the Irish Script on Screen project whereby Irish manuscripts are digitised and are freely accessible for research and scholarly purposes. As of November 2015, over 70 of the earliest Academy mss are available on www.isos.dias.ie
Electronic Tools & Ancient Near East Archives. A multi-institutional collaborative project initiated in August 2000, as an electronic publishing project designed to enhance the study of the history and culture of the ancient Near East.
Smarthistory is a collection of videos and essays. a collaboration of more than 200 art historians, archaeologists, curators and other specialists - it covers art that ranges from the paleolithic to the present.
The Yale Silk Road Database presents over 11,000 images of major sites in the Silk Road region taken during faculty site seminars led by Mimi Hall Yiengpruksawan (Professor, History of Art) under the auspices of the Council on East Asian Studies at Yale University in the summers of 2006-2010.