UCC Library: Biochemistry: Databases & eBooks

Open Access Databases

The Scientific World Journal became Open Access since 2011. This single title comprises a set of overlapping domains and clusters, journals and virtual journals, e-books and special issues.

Academic Journals This link opens in a new window
Academic Journals is a broad-based publisher of peer-reviewed open access journals.
BENTHAM Open Journals This link opens in a new window
Bentham Open publishes peer-reviewed, open access journals, in the disciplines of science, medicine, technology and social sciences.
De Gruyter Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
De Gruyter is home to around 100 fully open access journals across STEM and HSS disciplines.
Directory of Open Access Books This link opens in a new window
This resource contains over 86,000 academic peer-reviewed books.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
This resource contains over 10 million article records from over 20,000 journals.
Dove Press This link opens in a new window
This resource specialises in the publication of Open Access peer-reviewed journals across the broad spectrum of science, technology and especially medicine.
EDP Open This link opens in a new window
This resource provides a set of Open Access journals covering the fields of Physics & Astronomy, Engineering & Technology, Health, Life & Environmental Sciences.
Erudit This link opens in a new window
Érudit is the largest disseminator of French-language and bi-lingual resources in North America. Over 95% of the documents disseminated by Érudit are freely available. Only the last publication year of some scholarly journals and the last three years of cultural journals are in restricted access.
Four types of publications are accessible on the Érudit platform: Journals, Books, Theses and Documents. Access to the recent issues of journals is restricted and requires subscription. Journal archives and Books and Proceedings areas are open access. Érudit supports researcher-driven initiatives in the creation of news tools for the development of the Digital Humanities, whether for data mining or for exploitation of research results.
IntechOpen This link opens in a new window
This resource contains more than 7,000 Open Access books and scientific works in the areas of science, technology and medicine.
Karger Open access This link opens in a new window
This resource includes Open Access journals in the field of health science.
MDPI Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
MDPI publishes 438 diverse peer-reviewed, scientific, open access, electronic journals.
Oxford Academic Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
OUP publishes over 142 fully open access journals, as well as numerous open access eBooks.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free database of biomedical citations and abstracts. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, and OLDMEDLINE (for pre-1966) and citations to articles that are out-of-scope (e.g., covering plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and general chemistry journals.
PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
ResearchGate This link opens in a new window
With 25+ million researchers and 160+ million publication pages, this resource provides open access to science.

Databases

Top Databases:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content dating back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
Access is available to the following collections: the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection, the Arts and Sciences I to XV Collections, Business IV Collection, Global Plants Collection, Hebrew Journals Collection, the Ireland Collection, the Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, Public Health Journals Collection, Security Studies Collection and Sustainability Collection.
MedicinesComplete This link opens in a new window
MedicinesComplete offers access to world leading drug resources. The full text titles subscribed to are: British National Formulary, British National Formulary for Children, Martindale, Palliative Care Formulary, Pharmaceutical Excipients and Stockley's Drug Interactions.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care
Ovid MEDLINE ® is produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Coverage: 1946 - current
Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
The resource provides full text access to over 2,500 journals and over 180 UCC purchased books in all disciplines published by Elsevier Science.
Most journal coverage dates back to 1995. However, backfiles are available for the following titles:

Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications (1959-1994)
Chemical Physics (1973-1994)
Chemical Physics Letters (1967-1994)
Journal of Chromatography A (1958-1994)
Journal of Chromatography B: Biomedical Sciences and Applications (1977-1994)
Nuclear Physics B (1967-1994)
Tetrahedron (1957-1994)
Tetrahedron: Asymmetry (1990-1994)
Tetrahedron Letters (1959-1994)
SciFinder - Registration required This link opens in a new window
This database provides easy access to the rich and diverse scientific information offered by the CAS (Chemical Abstracts) databases.
All current UCC staff and students have unlimited access but must register for a login ID and password. Please click on Additional Info below for details on how to register for the login ID and password.
First access the following URL:
https://ucc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=1F32563C-86F3-50AB-50D1-6FA44E817C37 and then follow the onscreen instructions.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities — Scopus delivers the broadest overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities and navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.
Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.

Open Access

Electronic Journals

ARKIVOC Open Access
Acta Chemica Scandinavica (1947-1999) Open Access

Biochemistry journals: This is a directory/list of open access biochemistry journals listed by ScienceMedia.

Chemical Societies

Biochemical Society

IUBMB (International Union of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology)

IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry)

IUPAC Nomenclature Of Organic Compounds

eBooks

Virtual Textbook of Organic Chemistry

Physical Biochemistry: Principles & Applications - David Sheehan (Google Books) Preview copy, some pages are suppressed.

Stereochemistry Tutorial - University of Wisconsin-Madison

Stereochemistry of Organic Compounds - D. Nasipuri (Google Books) Preview copy, some pages are suppressed.

Modern Physical Organic Chemistry – E.V. Anslyn, D. A. Dougherty (Google Books) Preview copy, some pages are suppressed.

Foye's Principles of Medicinal Chemistry - William O. Foye, Thomas L. Lemke, David A. Williams (Google Books) Preview copy, some chapters are suppressed.

Analytical Chemistry - David Kealey, Peter J. Haines (Google Books) Preview copy, some pages and chapters are suppressed.

Pharmacognosy - Kokate, C.K, Purohit, A.P and Gokhale, S.B. (Google Books) Preview copy, some pages and chapters are suppressed.

eBooks

eBooks

RSC ebook collection of 747 books online

Brill Open E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
BRILL content has a strong international focus on the Humanities and Social Sciences, International Law and selected areas in the Sciences.
Ebook Central (Academic Complete) This link opens in a new window
The Ebook Central resource now incorporates a subscription to the Academic Complete titles package, which provides UCC Library with full text access to over 234,000 ebooks, across a broad range of subject areas.
UCC Library owns over 3,000 of the titles available on Ebook Central.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
UCC Library has full text access to over 800 books, from different subject areas, in this resource.

Free Online Books

Oregon State University has provided access to three free online books on Biochemistry.