Biochemistry: Selected Web Pages for Biochemistry

This is a database of measured binding affinities, focusing chiefly on the interactions of protein considered to be drug-targets with small, drug-like molecules. BindingDB contains 1,854,767 binding data, for 7,493 protein targets and 820,433 small molecules.
There are 2291 protein-ligand crystal structures with BindingDB affinity measurements for proteins with 100% sequence identity, and 5816 crystal structures allowing proteins to 85% sequence identity.

This is a free database containing information on over 6500 enzymes: nomenclature, EC and registry numbers, reaction and specificity, inhibitors, structure, isolation, literature references, etc. (Technical University of Braunschweig)

It is a freely available dictionary of molecular entities focused on ‘small’ chemical compounds.he molecular entities in question are either products of nature or synthetic products used to intervene in the processes of living organisms.
ChEBI incorporates an ontological classification, whereby the relationships between molecular entities or classes of entities and their parents and/or children are specified. The data on this website is available under the Creative Commons License (CC BY 4.0).

ChemDB is a suite of chemical datasets and learning tools created by UC Irvine. Includes a chemical search feature for about 4 million compounds from vendor catalogues.

Bioinformatics services at EMBL-EBI: share data, perform complex queries and analyse the results in different ways.

"The Human Metabolome Database (HMDB) is a freely available electronic database containing detailed information about small molecule metabolites found in the human body. It is intended to be used for applications in metabolomics, clinical chemistry, biomarker discovery and general education. The database is designed to contain or link three kinds of data: 1) chemical data, 2) clinical data, and 3) molecular biology/biochemistry data."

Open access database designed to cover all microbially-derived natural products published in the peer-reviewed primary scientific literature. This encompasses bacterial, fungal and cyanobacterial compounds, but does not include compounds from plants, invertebrates or other higher organisms unless these compounds have also been explicitly identified from a microbial source. Compounds from lichens and mushrooms and other higher fungi are included. Compounds from marine macro algae and diatoms are excluded. (Simon Fraser Univ.)

The Nucleotide database is a collection of sequences from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, TPA and PDB. Genome, gene and transcript sequence data provide the foundation for biomedical research and discovery.

This resource is powered by the Protein Data Bank archive-information about the 3D shapes of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies that helps students and researchers understand all aspects of biomedicine and agriculture, from protein synthesis to health and disease.

A portal for exchanging proteomics data and information generated in mass-spectrometry (MS) experiments. Hosted by the EU-funded ProteomeXchange consortium.

Bioinformatic Harvester Search Engine is a meta search engine for 50 major bioinformatic databases and projects.

BioLine International is a not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries.

An electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science.

GMD is primarily a mass spectrometry database The GMD was developed at and is maintained by the Max Planck Institute of Molecular Plant Physiology, Potsdam-Golm, Germany. Academic users may download the material offered on the site for their non-commercial use, but all copyright and other proprietary notices contained in the materials are to be retained. Chemistry, Biochemistry Search engine.

Parent site of the major NLM databases, including PubMed, GenBank, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, PubChem, and others. (NIH)

PLOS was founded in 2001 as a non-profit open access publisher. PLOS believes in free and unrestricted access to research, in open data, transparency in peer review and an open approach to science assessment.

PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules and is organised as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.

SciELO is a bibliographic database, originally from Brazil providing free and universal access to over 900 scientific journals from different countries.

A gateway to U.S. government science information and research results.

A search engine for natural and physical sciences and other disciplines. It is integrated with ORCID for overlay and peer review services.

A search engine for Biology and Biochemistry methods.

A global Science gateway composed of national and international scientific databases and portals.

CORE is an aggregated service. It's mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.

The Datahub provides free access to many of CKAN's ( an open source software) core features, letting you search for data, register published datasets, create and manage groups of datasets, and get updates from datasets and groups you're interested in. You can use the web interface or, if you are a programmer needing to connect the Datahub with another app, the CKAN API.

doiSerbia is an Open Access Repository developed and maintained by the National Library of Serbia. The content includes articles in other languages than English as well. The National Library of Serbia set out to assign DOI numbers to a number of Serbian scientific journals, deposit proper metadata about them into the Crossref system, and make articles available online.

EMDB is a public repository for electron microscopy density maps of macromolecular complexes and subcellular structures. It covers a variety of techniques, including single-particle analysis, electron tomography, and electron (2D) crystallography.

A curated, informative and educational resource on data and metadata standards, inter-related to databases and data policies.

This table lists NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse. Most accept submissions of appropriate data from NIH-funded investigators (and others), but some restrict data submission to only those researchers involved in a specific research network.

The Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive is the single worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids. Open Access.

re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.