UCC Library: CUBS: Resources

How to find a book/journal

E book:

Print book:

see tutorial

E journal:

eJournals & eBooks Portal

Print journal:

see tutorial

Case Studies in Databases

SAGE Business Cases

Business Source Complete

Enter the title in inverted commas (quotes) and search in Title field.

General Case Studies: type "case studies" and search in the SU field (Subject).

Enter keyword e.g. marketing in the next box.

ABI/INFORM

Choose Advanced Search.

Enter the title in inverted commas (quotes) and search in Title field.

General Case Studies: type in keyword and tick the Case Study box underneath

Databases

Key Databases for Business:

ABI Inform: Accounting, Finance, Taxation, Auditing, Corporate Finance, Investments, Securities, Risk Managemen
Business Source Complete: Accounting, Finance, Taxation, Auditing, Corporate Finance, Investments, Securities, Risk Management
Business Abstracts (Full Text) Accounting, Finance, all Business subjects

Multidisciplinary databases such as Web of Science, Science Direct, JSTOR , Academic Search Complete and Emerald may be useful

See the full list of databases available at UCC Library. See also Database Guides.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The database features thousands of full text content, giving researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. The database features PDF content dating back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database, providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content, including Marketline Reports. It also contains SWOT analyses.
Business Source Complete does not contain comprehensive company financial reports but it is still a good source of company information.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Emerald Insight combines full text journals with management reviews through an integrated search and navigation system, providing access to over 400 authoritative titles, 76% of which are peer-reviewed.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a comprehensive digital archive of important scholarly journals. It offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.
Access is available to the following collections: the 19th Century British Pamphlets Collection, the Arts and Sciences I to XV Collections, Business IV Collection, Global Plants Collection, Hebrew Journals Collection, the Ireland Collection, the Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature Collection, Public Health Journals Collection, Security Studies Collection and Sustainability Collection.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
The resource provides full text access to over 2,500 journals and over 180 UCC purchased books in all disciplines published by Elsevier Science.
Most journal coverage dates back to 1995. However, backfiles are available for the following titles:

Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications (1959-1994)
Chemical Physics (1973-1994)
Chemical Physics Letters (1967-1994)
Journal of Chromatography A (1958-1994)
Journal of Chromatography B: Biomedical Sciences and Applications (1977-1994)
Nuclear Physics B (1967-1994)
Tetrahedron (1957-1994)
Tetrahedron: Asymmetry (1990-1994)
Tetrahedron Letters (1959-1994)
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities and navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.
Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.

Article evaluating databases
Yu Zhang (User Services Librarian) & Di Su (Head of Information Literacy) (2018) Overview and Evaluation of Selected General Business Databases, Journal of Business & Finance Librarianship, 23:1, 103-111, DOI: 10.1080/08963568.2018.1449510

E book Databases

Most of UCC Library's eBooks can be located through the Library catalogue.

It is also possible to search eBook databases by keyword.

Oxford Handbooks Online and Oxford Reference Online, contain many reference books covering topics in Business such as the Handbook of International Financial Terms and A Dictionary of Business Research Methods and many more books on specialised topics.

Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Core is the online content delivery service for Cambridge University Press’s collection of journals and books across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Ebook Central (Academic Complete) This link opens in a new window
The Ebook Central resource now incorporates a subscription to the Academic Complete titles package, which provides UCC Library with full text access to over 234,000 ebooks, across a broad range of subject areas.
UCC Library owns over 3,000 of the titles available on Ebook Central.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
UCC Library has full text access to over 900 books, from different subject areas, in this resource.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online is one of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford’s scholarly publishing, the Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. UCC has over 100 of these handbooks purchased.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.

Journal Rankings

Academic Journal Guide
ABS (Association of Business Schools)
See how a journal is ranked. Arranged by subject.

Social Media & research

Social Media can help with your research and can provide an opportunity to communicate/disseminate your research or collaborate with others worldwide. Being part of a community of like-minded researchers provides a supportive environment which is very motivating and it can be very informative. Follow key researchers and hear about their research from their perspective and hear about their challenges and successes.

Resources not available in UCC Library

If UCC Library doesn't have a particular book or a journal article, it can be borrowed from another library. Information is available here.

You may also visit other libraries. Click here for more information.