Skip to main content

Library Re-opening

UCC Library is committed to reopening both Boole and Brookfield libraries as soon as it is safe to do so: the safety of library users and staff is the chief guiding principle. Read more about our plans and schedule for re-opening our Libraries .

Please see our policies regarding re-opening here

Government & Politics: Books and eBooks

How to Find a Book

Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks. Note:

  1. Location: what floor it is on
  2. Call number: where it is shelved - see the book's spine
  3. Status: is it available or currently on loan?

For help, see:

See also: How do I find a book?

Can't find the book you are looking for? Just  ask the library staff.

Sourcing Books from Other Libraries

If you need a book that UCC Library does not have you can:

Apply for an inter-library loan - office is on Q floor

Arrange a visit  to another library - options for access: ALCID, SCONUL, CorkPAL or a 'Letter of Introduction'.

WorldCat: great free resource for discovering items held in other libraries.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Recommend a Book for the Library

You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase. Click here and log in to your Library Account.

Books for Government

UCC Library uses the Dewey Decimal system.

Use the Library Catalogue to locate books.

You can search the catalogue below:

Do a catalogue keyword search for Oxford reference online politics for a range of titles in this subject

eBooks

Most of UCC Library's eBooks can be located through the Library catalogue. 

It is also possible to search eBook databases by keyword.  

eBook Databases for Government

Ebook Central covers  government , research methods, including business research methods and academic writing

Oxford Reference Online provides access to the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics and the Oxford Guide to the United States Government

Colombia International Affairs Online provides access to eBooks on international affairs from various publishers

Springer eBooks provides access to some titles on government.

New Books

Would you like to be alerted by email to new books received in the Library in your subject area? Just log into your Library Account on the Library Catalogue and save your search. See the instructions for Preferred Searches and email alerts here.  

                         

High Demand Collection

Books that are in constant use are held in the High Demand Collection which is located on Q Floor in the Boole Library (Ground Floor level).

These books may be borrowed for 4 hours using the issue/returns unit within the room.  Books must be used within the library building.

Online Reference Books