Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Library Services: Click & Collect

Click & Collect

Click & Collect

Click & Collect is a new service from UCC Library whereby you can place online requests for print books held in the library. Submit a request here and we will have your books ready for collection.

You are welcome to browse and borrow items from the libraries lending collections, however if you are not in a position to browse you can use the Click & Collect service.

Christmas Service Hours - This service will stop accepting requests from Wednesday 16th of December and will commence again on January 4th.

Click here to make a Request

Please note , you must login with your UCC Credentials

What can be requested?

All items which can currently be borrowed from UCC Library's general collections can be requested from Click & Collect, including items which are located in the store.  You cannot request an item which is currently checked out. Items which are located in the High Demand Collection cannot be requested but you can use the Scan & Deliver service to request a chapter from High Demand items.

How many requests can I place at one time?

You can make requests up to the number of books you are allowed to borrow according to your membership category.

Who can use the Click & Collect Service?

The Click & Collect service is available to all staff and students of University College Cork.

How long will it take to fulfil my request?

Every effort will be made to fulfil your request as soon as possible but  delays may occur due to high demand and the necessity to quarantine returned books.

How long will my books be held for me?

Your books will be held for 3 working days from the day after you receive your email. After that they will be returned to the shelves.

Before you make a request

Please check the UCC Library catalogue to see if the book you require is available in the library. Check that the status is 'check shelf'. You cannot request a book if it is checked out. Make a note of the call number, for example 301 GIDD, as you will need this to complete the request form. 

How will I know when my book is ready for collection?

We will send you an email when your book is ready for collection. This email will detail the 3 day period in which you can visit Boole Library to collect your item(s).The Collection service will operate between 9:00 and 17:00, Monday to Friday.

How do I collect my books from the library?

Please note that your books will be available in the lobby in the library. They will be filed under your name. You can check the items out on the self-issue machine. Please bring your UCC student card with you. Social distancing will be in place.

How do I return my books?

There will be a book returns service at the entrance to the library where you can return your books. The books will then be quarantined for 72 hours.

Contact Us

If you have questions or comments about  the Click & Collect service please contact us at collectionmgt@ucc.ie

New Service -

Scan & Deliver

Scan and deliver is a free electronic document delivery service from UCC Library. Submit a request here and we'll scan a book chapter or a journal article and deliver it to you electronically.

Read More

New Service -

Click & Collect

Request an item from the Library Catalogue.We will organise a time for you to collect the item from the Boole Library.

Read More

New Service -

Special Collections & Archives Appointments

Book an appointment with our Special Collections and Archives Section.

Read More