Skip to main content
ucc home Study@UCC | Research | Campus Life | Schools & Departments | About UCC | Alumni

Celtic Studies: Getting Started

Celtic Studies: Irish, Welsh, Scottish, Breton, literature, language, linguistics, history, art, music

Spotlight On

The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available (from 55BC to the present).

Celtic Studies at UCC

Study Celtic Civilisation with Dept. of Early & Medieval Irish.

Research in Celtic Civilisation.

Image: Example of manuscript.

Other Useful Guides

For information relating to Irish:

Celtic Studies at UCC Library

This guide brings together key resources for the study of Celtic Studies at University College Cork. Use the tabs above to find:

Key Resources for Celtic Studies

CELT is an online database bringing the wealth of Irish literary and historical culture to the Internet. It is an Open Access database produced and hosted by UCC.

Irish Newspaper Archives is the worlds largest online database of Irish newspapers (national and regional), from which it is possible to search, retrieve and view Ireland’s past in the exact format it was published.

JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings.

MLA International Bibliography is a database of classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics including indexing from 1963 onwards. It contains  more than 1.8 million records. 

Using your Student Card in UCC Library

Celtic Studies

Claire O'Brien
Contact:
Liaison Librarian: Arts & Celtic Studies
Boole Library
University College Cork
+353 (21) 490-2984

UCC Library News

Loading

Copyright © 2013 Boole Library, University College Cork, College Road, Cork, Ireland. Tel. +353 21 4902292, Fax: +353 21 4273428. Email: library@ucc.ie