Skip to main content
ucc home Study@UCC | Research | Campus Life | Schools & Departments | About UCC | Alumni

Modern Irish: Getting Started

Spotlight On

Dictionary of Irish Biography includes the lives of Irish men and women who made a significant contribution in Ireland and abroad, as well as those born overseas who had noteworthy careers in Ireland. It contains 9,014 signed biographical articles which describe and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavour, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.

Modern Irish in UCC

Letter F in Ó Longáin Manuscript

Other Useful Guides

For information relating to Irish:

Introduction: Modern Irish in UCC Library

This guide brings together key resources for the study of Modern Irish at University College Cork. Use the tabs above to find:

  • Books & eBooks: Modern Irish language and literature collections at UCC Library; how to find books
  • Journals, Newspapers & Databases: articles & more for your assignments & research
  • Special Collections: resources in Special Collections for Celtic Studies
  • Free Web Sources: recommended sources freely available on the web
  • Referencing: organising your sources

Key Databases for Modern Irish

Some key resources for Modern Irish:

The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.

 

CELT is a an online database bringing the wealth of Irish literary and historical culture to the Internet. It is an Open Access database produced and hosted by UCC.

Irish Newspaper Archives is the worlds largest online database of Irish newspapers (national and regional), from which it is possible to search, retrieve and view Ireland’s past in the exact format it was published. 

 


JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections that include complete runs of journals as well as select monographs, transactions, and conference proceedings

 

MLA International Bibliography is a database of classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics including indexing from 1963 onwards. It contains  more than 1.8 million records. 

 

Using your Student Card in UCC Library

Modern Irish

Claire O'Brien
Contact:
Liaison Librarian: Arts & Celtic Studies
Boole Library
University College Cork
+353 (21) 490-2984

UCC Library News

Loading

Copyright © 2013 Boole Library, University College Cork, College Road, Cork, Ireland. Tel. +353 21 4902292, Fax: +353 21 4273428. Email: library@ucc.ie