Skip to Main Content

Electronic Resources @ UCC Library: New Content

Information for UCC staff and students in relation to accessing electronic resources to support their learning, teaching and research.

Content Update

Screenocean

This resource provides access to unique and quality content from around the world, captured from 1896 to the present day. Discover rare and inspiring footage including momentous historic newsreels, entertainment programs, and over 20 million iconic images. Screenocean’s footage includes clips from Reuters News Archive, Channel 4, Channel 5, Warner Bros Television Productions UK, Clips & Footage and Cover Images, covering TV, film, education, advertising, corporate events, museums, music videos and more.

 

ScienceDirect

Backfiles as indicated are now available for the following titles on the ScienceDirect platform:

Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications (1959-1994)
Chemical Physics (1973-1994)
Chemical Physics Letters (1967-1994)
Journal of Chromatography A (1958-1994)
Nuclear Physics B (1967-1994)
Tetrahedron (1957-1994)
Tetrahedron: Asymmetry (1990-1994)
Tetrahedron Letters (1959-1994)

 

Cambridge University Press

For the period July 2023 - June 2024, UCC has access to an additional 47,400 eBooks on the Cambridge Core platform.  Sample titles available include Cambridge Handbook of Pain Medicine, Field Theory of Multiscale Plasticity, Modern Discrete Probability: An Essential Toolkit, Copilots for Linguists: AI, Constructions, and Frames, Giftedness in Childhood, Translation in Analytic Philosophy.

 

Springer

UCC Library now has access to 6 additional eBook collections consisting of over 11,456 titles across the collections.  The collections offer access to titles published during the period 2020 - 2023.  The relevant collections are: 

Business and Management, Economics and Finance, Engineering, Mathematics and Statistics, Physics and Astronomy, Professional and Applied Computing.

 

Emerald Publishing

For the 2022/2024 academic years, over 3,500 eBook titles are also available covering Business, Management and Economics, Transport and Social Sciences.  Some titles added recently include Cognitive Aids in Strategy, Gambling and Sports in a Global Age, Learning Allowed, Overcoming Workplace Loneliness, Resilient Leadership.

 

Financial Times - New subscription

The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organisations, recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy.  FT.com provides up to the minute access to The Financial Times plus blogs, multimedia, and interactive pages.  To access the UCC subscription to FT.com, please email LibraryResources@ucc.ie  You will then receive an email invitation to set up your own personal FT account.

 

Taylor & Francis eBooks

From January, 2023, UCC has 12-months access to an additional 3,220 Taylor & Francis eBook titles across a range of subject areas.  Some example titles include Acquisition of Reading Skills (1986): Cultural Constraints and Cognitive UniversalsBlockchain for Cybersecurity and Privacy: Architectures, Challenges, and ApplicationsCoastal and Marine EnvironmentsGeneral Radiography: Principles and PracticesPolitics in North and South Korea: Political Development, Economy, and Foreign Relations.

 

TLS - Times Literary Supplement

The Times Literary Supplement has been the world's leading cultural magazine, with essays and reviews on the most significant books, ideas and art of our times.  Access is available online from 2010.

 

Some recently acquired eBook titles include the following:

A Companion to Biological Anthropology (2nd ed.)

Gothic Imagination in Latin American Fiction and Film

Mexican Literature in Theory

The Cambridge World History of Genocide

What Is To Be Done About Violence Against Women?: Gendered Violence(s) in the Twenty-First Century

 

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Education 

The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Education combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.  The content is substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated. 

 

Centre for Economic Policy Research

Research by CEPR Research Fellows and Affiliates appears initially in the CEPR Discussion Paper series.  The Centre produces more than 1,000 Discussion Papers each year and has an archive of over 18,000 papers.  The UCC subscription expires on 31/12/2024 for this resource.

 

Optica Publishing Group

Optica Publishing Group extended access now includes all conference proceedings and conference videos and access to eBook titles Lasers and OSA Century of Optics.  Content within Optics ImageBank is also available from 2006 onwards.

 

Alexander Street

The National Theatre Collection - Volume II brings the stage to life through access to high-definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.