UCC Library: Management and Marketing: Market Research

Books on Market Research from UCC Library catalogue

Marketing Research by Naresh K. Malhotra; David F. Birks; Peter Wills
ISBN: 9780273725855
Publication Date: 2012-08-28
This text presents a look at both the principles and practices of marketing research with balanced coverage of qualitative and quantitative material. Written from the perspective of market research users, it reflects current trends in international marketing, ethics, and the continuing integration of technology.
The Practice of Market Research by Yvonne McGivern
ISBN: 9780273717072
Publication Date: 2009-02-22
This is a comprehensive account of the techniques and the day-to-day tasks of the researcher. Easy to read and understand, McGivern's book covers not only research methods and techniques, such as sampling and questionnaire design, but also the practical tasks of running a research project.

Market Research

Market research reports contain data about the size and characteristics of the market for particular goods and services.

Market research reports are usually not freely available. The reports are generally produced for the commercial sector and are very expensive to purchase .

The main sources of information for market research at UCC Library are :

Euromonitor Passport database provides market size statistics as well as market share rankings of consumer goods companies and there is information on the top brands and companies in a country or market sector. Euromonitor lifestyle statistics go back to 1990, and a 6 year historical series is available for some statistical series.Includes economic indicators, demographic data, foreign trade statistics.

Business Source Complete On the main search page choose the 'market research reports' under the 'publication type' heading.

ABI Inform On the main search page choose the 'data and reports' tab

Nexis UK On the home page click on the 'sources' tab amd then choose 'industries and markets

Passport This link opens in a new window
International statistical information and market analysis. Access information by country, company, consumer market, etc. Provides business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries.
Also provides an in depth analysis of the economic, political, social and demographic trends affecting countries and regions worldwide.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database, providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content, including Marketline Reports. It also contains SWOT analyses.
Business Source Complete does not contain comprehensive company financial reports but it is still a good source of company information.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The database features thousands of full text content, giving researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Nexis - Login using your UCC email credentials This link opens in a new window
Nexis brings together thousands of authoritative financial news, business news, legal, regulatory, company and industry research sources. Search, share, analyse and monitor information that’s continually being updated and goes back up to 35 years, from Irish and international newspapers, websites, blogs, trade journals and market researchers.
For Legal resources, see Lexis+ UK.