UCC Library: Medieval Studies: Databases

Early Primary Source Databases

Eighteenth Century Collections Online Part 1 This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is a vast eighteenth-century library at your desktop—a fully text-searchable corpus of books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects printed between 1701 and 1800.
History of Medieval and Renaissance Europe: Primary Documents This link opens in a new window
These open access source links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural).
Monumenta Germaniae Historica This link opens in a new window
Primary sources for the study of German history from the end of the Roman Empire to 1500. It also includes documents from other areas subjected to the influence of Germanic tribes or rulers.
Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
This database contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologica Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865). Migne's Patrologica Latina was originally printed in 217 volumes from 1844 to 1855. There were two series: the series prima, volumes 1 to 73 (Tertullian to Gregory the Great), 1844-1849 and the series secunda, volumes 74 to 217 (Gregory the Great to Pope Innocent 3rd) 1849-1855. The Patrologica Latina Database has been based exclusively on the copies of the first edition of the texts and indices.

Databases

Many research topics in Medieval Studies are interdisciplinary, i.e. overlap into other scholarly disciplines. Therefore, this list includes the most relevant resources from other likely disciplines (such as History, History of Art, Philosophy, Literature, etc.) as well.

For additional databases check 'Key Resources for Medieval Studies.'

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This resource covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE was launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals online. In 1999, Muse expanded to become a unique partnership of not-for-profit publishers, increasing its ability to offer essential periodicals in the humanities, the arts, and the social sciences.
This resource provides access to the full text of over 800 journal titles.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities and navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.
Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.

Spotlight on International Medieval Bibliography

International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The leading bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c.400-1500) providing a comprehensive and current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes worldwide.

Using the subject tree on the International Medieval Bibliography gives a more focused search. (Credit: Brepolis)