UCC Library: Medieval Studies: Books & eBooks

Sourcing Books from Other Libraries

If you need a book that UCC Library does not have you can:

Apply for an inter-library loan - service based on Q floor
Arrange a visit to another library. Different options are available for staff, postgrads and undergrads including a letter of introduction, Library Link, SCONUL and CorkPAL schemes.

E-books

Early English Books Online
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Books on Medieval Studies at UCC Library

UCC Library uses the 'Dewey Decimal' system. Books on Medieval Studies are located in the appropriate place for the discipline:

Philosophy is in the 100s on Q+2 floor.
Languages are in the 420s - 490s on Q+2 floor.
Music books are in the 780s on Q+3 floor.
English literature books are in the 820s on Q+3 floor.
European literature is in 830s - 880s on Q+3 floor.
History books are in the 900s on Q+3 floor.

Use the Library Catalogue to locate books. You can also browse for books on Medieval Studies.

Reference Sources

Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new window
An authoritative reference work of nearly 11,000 lives for scholars of Irish history, society and culture. It tells the island’s life story through the biographies, at home and overseas, of prominent men and women born in Ireland, and the noteworthy Irish careers of those born outside Ireland.
Open Access from 2021
Dictionary of Old English: A to Le This link opens in a new window
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language.
Dictionary of Old English: Web Corpus This link opens in a new window
The resource is an online database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Oxford DNB includes over 65,000 biographies of people who shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.
Oxford Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the more than 6,000 subject entries, over 20,000 biographies, 40,000 image links and 7,000 searchable images.

New Items

Would you like to be alerted by email to new books received in the Library in your subject area? Just log into your Library Account on the Library Catalogue and save your search. See the instructions for Preferred Searches and email alerts here.

Recommend a Book for the Library

You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase. Click here and fill out the e-proposal form.