Skip to main content

Special Collections: Plan A Visit

Special Collections is home to manuscripts, older printed books and unique & distinct collections.

Accessing Special Collections

A valid UCC Student or Staff Library Card is required to access Special Collections.

If you are an External Reader you may access Special Collections. Please check with the Library & IT Services Desk on Q floor when using the Library for the first time.

Alternatively if you only require short term access, please go to the Library & IT Services Desk on Q (ground) floor to request a visitor’s day pass.

Searching for Material

The Library Catalogue is a listing of most of the material, both hardcopy and online that the Library holds.

You can search the Library Catalogue from the UCC Library homepage.

Choose your type of search: Keyword (default), Author, Title or Subject  from the buttons above the box.

Using the keyword search, enter words from the title, contents or subject. Click on the search icon or hit enter and browse your results.

Below is an example of a book title showing bibliographic and location details. 

Finding Special Collections in UCC Library

Special Collections is located in Q-1 (basement level) of Boole Library, UCC.

Information for visitors to UCC is found here. The Boole Library is Building 11 on the map below.

Opening Hours

Special Collections and Archives Service have standardised their opening hours as follows:

From 12 November - 20 December 2019:

Microform & Reference Reading Room: Monday & Tuesday, Thursday & Friday 11:00 – 16:30; Wednesday 11:00 – 20:15.

Rare Books Reading Room: Monday – Friday 11:00 – 13:00 and 14:00 – 16:30. 
 
Special Collections & Archives are closed 23 December 2019 and 2-10 January 2020. Apologies for any inconvenience.
This is to facilitate essential works in the reading rooms and to deliver a better service to all our patrons in the second semester. There will be no access to any items from any of the collections nor will be there be any access to the spaces in Special Collections & Archives.

Special Collections & Archives will reopen at 11:00 on 13 January 2020.