UCC Library: Food and Nutritional Science: Journals & Databases

Journals and eJournals

Find specific electronic & print journals by searching the Journal Portal

Use 'food' or 'nutrition' as keywords to get an idea of what is available.

You can also access a list of e-journals from "Getting Started" page of this libguide.

What is an Academic Journal?

A 'periodical' or 'serial' = any publication published regularly (includes magazines, newspapers, newsletters).

A ‘scholarly’/academic’ journal: periodical containing research articles, that is peer-reviewed, and aimed at researchers.

Peer review: every paper/article submitted to the journal is reviewed by independent experts. Papers are accepted/rejected based on quality.

Top Databases for Food & Nutritional Sciences

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This resource allows the user to search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities and navigate the full citation network.

The Web of Science Core Collection covers the period from 1945 to present.
Features include:
> All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
> Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
> Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
> See citation activity and trends graphically with Citation Report.
> Use Analyze Results to identify trends and publication patterns.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Across all research fields - science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities — Scopus delivers the broadest overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
The resource provides full text access to over 2,500 journals and over 180 UCC purchased books in all disciplines published by Elsevier Science.
Most journal coverage dates back to 1995. However, backfiles are available for the following titles:

Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications (1959-1994)
Chemical Physics (1973-1994)
Chemical Physics Letters (1967-1994)
Journal of Chromatography A (1958-1994)
Journal of Chromatography B: Biomedical Sciences and Applications (1977-1994)
Nuclear Physics B (1967-1994)
Tetrahedron (1957-1994)
Tetrahedron: Asymmetry (1990-1994)
Tetrahedron Letters (1959-1994)
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free database of biomedical citations and abstracts. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, and OLDMEDLINE (for pre-1966) and citations to articles that are out-of-scope (e.g., covering plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and general chemistry journals.
PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library provides reliable information from other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations and individual clinical trials.
National licence sponsored by HRB, Ireland and R&D Office, NI
Note: Access to this resource is restricted to Irish IPs.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
From July 2024, all OECD data, reports and analysis in all formats are now available under an Open licence, allowing users to freely use, translate, and share the Organisation's work.

Reference Resources

Materials such as dictionaries, encyclopaedias etc. which provide a concise information on a given subject and can be referred to in course of discussion are called Reference Collection.

Encyclopedias on Food and related areas.

Handbooks on Food and related areas.