Languages, Literatures and Cultures: French

The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) is a cooperative enterprise of the Laboratoire ATILF (Analyse et Traitement Informatique de la Langue Française) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Division of the Humanities, and Electronic Text Services (ETS) of the University of Chicago.

electronic annotated edition of the French philosophical journal, considered one of the most influential French intellectual journals of its time.

The Republic of Letters is a journal of debate, criticism and cultural and political information. It was founded in March 1994 in Paris by the publisher Noël Blandin.
The Journal publishes articles - interviews, essays, opinions, or critiques - signed by contemporary writers, novelists, translators, poets, or essayists.

from UQAC - Université du Québec à Chicoutimi. The mission of the library is to provide free access to works in French-language social sciences and humanities

presents hundreds of Francophone authors of the islands and their diaspora with in-depth files: photos, biographies, bibliographies, interviews and extracts of texts

promoting French culture, as well as providing a space for intercultural exchanges between Ireland and the cultures of the French-speaking world.

brings together all those who are interested in the language and the French and Francophone societies and cultures: students, teachers, university or independent researchers. A place of exchange and meetings which enjoys an international influence, the association organizes each year two main events, a Doctoral Day and an International Symposium.

France's Minister of Culture's official website

FLE -The Agency for Promoting French as a Foreign Language is an independent professional organization. The Agency aims to deliver information about the French Language Schools in France.

The French Academy was created in 1635. "The main function of the Academy will be to work, with all possible care and diligence, to give certain rules to our language and to make it pure, eloquent and capable of treat the arts and sciences. "(Article 24 of the statutes.) It is responsible for Dictionnaire de l'Académie, now in its 9th edition

(UK and Ireland)

collects, preserves and makes known the national documentary heritage.

The French union catalog locates some 30 million documents held in French libraries, provides access to the National Directory of Libraries and Documentary Collections (RNBFD)

Excellent research resource from Bibliothèque Nationale de France; aggregated information across various catalogues and the Galica digital library

Open Access repository for France

English-French and French-English dictionary

CNRTL - A single portal, a set of computerized linguistic resources and tools for language processing.The CNRTL integrates census, documentation, standardization, archiving, and dissemination of resources.
Support by UMR ATILF (CNRS - Nancy University)

Enter the French verb of your choice to get the conjugation

Enter the French word of your choice to get the synonym

du ministère de la Culture

Comprehensive French language guides to improve reading, writing, and comprehension skills for beginner, intermediate and advanced levels.

Reverso is a portal of linguistic tools including: translation, dictionary, spell-checker, conjugation, grammar, pronunciation feature (just click on a word or a selection of words or on the voice icon).

The TLFi is the computerized version of the TLF, a dictionary of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries in 16 volumes and 1 supplement

Bilingual dictionaries and tools

This new resource aims to record and describe all of the pamphlets published during the Fronde (1648-53), a period of political unrest and revolt in France, during the minority of Louis XIV and Cardinal Mazarin’s government. The corpus of Mazarinades consists of about 6,000 editions, some of which exist as variant copies due to differing typesetting practices that occurred during the printing process. Each bibliographical entry includes a standardised description, a unique identifier allowing for unambiguous citation, and a permalink.

French arthouse cinema and visual arts

Provides access to 51m+ artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe

An association of researchers interested in the link between literary theory and history. Includes two journals - Acta Fabula and Fabula LHT.

Research notes and documentation of Philip Kolb , professor of French at the University of Illinois and editor of the correspondence of Marcel Proust

In this interview, the late novelist and filmmaker talks openly about the hardship and the romance of her childhood in French Indochina, sharing how this period haunted her life and shaped her work. Excerpts from her films and readings from her books by actress Elizabeth Rider and Duras herself-including The Lover, winner of the Prix Goncourt and translated into more than forty languages-bring to life those formative years in Vietnam. (52 minutes)

Modern Humanities Research Association

Thousands of texts in more than 25 different languages

from Brown University, provides a window into the cultural, political and social context of 19th century Parisian culture.

from Oxford University.

A selection of free online language resources for French Films