Languages, Literatures and Cultures: German

Germany’s international broadcaster. aims to convey a comprehensive image of Germany, report events and developments, incorporating German and other perspectives in a journalistically independent manner. By doing so they aim to promote understanding between cultures and peoples and simultaneously also provide access to the German language.

Links to radio, television, newspapers & other news sources (ACRL)

more than 730,000 personalities in the German-speaking world from the early Middle Ages to the present, including 50,000 biographical articles and links to more than 230 other sources (dictionaries, sources, literature, etc.)

packed with synonyms, examples and context sentences to see how words are used in real life situations.

Note: Textprüfung allows you to insert short paragraphs of text. When you hit Text korrigieren it will highlight mistakes both in orthography and grammar and show you how to correct them)

Standard dictionary of early modern German by the brothers Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm

English-German-English dictionary

The Goethe-Institut eV is the worldwide active cultural institute of the Federal Republic of Germany.

BL collections comprise historic and current material from Germany, Austria and German-speaking Switzerland, from the Netherlands and Dutch/Flemish speaking Belgium, and from Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland and Iceland

Designed to provide access to scholarly resources in German Studies, including all German-speaking countries. The resources organized here have undergone a selection and evaluation process. from the ACRL (Association of College & Research Libraries).

From Fritz Lang’s Metropolis to Margarethe von Trotta’s Hannah Arendt . Provided by the Goethe Institut on the Kanopy platform.

The Federal Archives have the legal mandate to secure the archives of the federal government in the long run and to make them usable. These are documents (including files, maps, pictures, posters, films and audio recordings in analogue and digital form) that were published by central offices of the Holy Roman Empire (1495-1806), the German Confederation (1815-1866), of the German Reich (1867 / 71-1945), the Occupation Zones (1945-1949), the German Democratic Republic (1949-1990) and the Federal Republic of Germany (since 1949).

The EUscreen portal offers free online access to thousands of items of audiovisual heritage. It brings together clips that provide an insight into the social, cultural, political and economic events that have shaped the 20th and 21st centuries. As well as chronicling important historical events, the EUscreen portal allows you to explore television programmes that focus on everyday experience. EUscreen is also intended to be a resource for educators, researchers and media professionals searching for new audiovisual content from across Europe.

from UCC's Department of German & Department of Theatre.

from the University of Southern California. The Institute currently has more than 55,000 video testimonies, offering powerful stories from history to be explored and shared. The testimonies are preserved in the Visual History Archive, one of the largest digital collections of its kind in the world. The vast majority of the testimonies contain a complete personal history of life before, during, and after the interviewee’s firsthand experience with genocide. The Visual History Archive is digitized, fully searchable via indexed keywords, and hyperlinked to the minute.

Digitized books, manuscripts and other media that are physically in the holdings of the Berlin State Library. You can search or browse by subject area

The Weimar Goethe Bibliography online is an international personal bibliography of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe's life, work and effect. It is created at the Duchess Anna Amalia Library in Weimar. It contains the data from the printed "Goethe Bibliography 1950 - 1990" (Munich, 1999) and opens up Goethe literature, which has been published since 1991

a selection of free online language resources for German films

Online exhibitions and resources, researcher and educational support, digital archives

The German Poetry Library

DW's free German language courses,learn German via e-learning on the computer, with videos, audios and podcasts - or with worksheets to print out. Choose between German courses for beginners and advanced.

Links to online resources for the German language

Comprehensive German language guides to improve reading, writing, and comprehension skills for beginner, intermediate and advanced levels.

For every episode there are interactive exercises and vocabulary aids for learning German.

ALO is a digital library with more than 15.000 documents from the 11th Century up to the present. Books, journals, newspapers, manuscripts, theses and scientific essays are available in digitized form or as PDF.

The goal of the German Digital Library (DDB) is to give everyone access to the cultural and scientific heritage of Germany via the internet, i.e. to millions of books, archives, pictures, sculptures, pieces of music and other sound documents, films and scores. As a central national portal, the DDB is intended to connect the digital material of all German cultural and scientific institutions

German text archive. Basis for a reference corpus of the New High German language.The German Text Archive provides a cross-disciplinary and generic base of German-language texts from the period from about 1600 to 1900.

Free e-books in a number of formats

Copyright free books online - search or browse by author, genre etc.

A collection of historical texts and dictionaries focusing on philosophy, art and aesthetics. The online editions included in the project are newly revised and edited. Currently, over 41,000 pages are available for reading and research. The collection is constantly updated and expanded.

The Brecht Yearbook is the annual publication of the International Brecht Society (IBS), devoted to scholarly research on Bertolt Brecht’s writings and to broader issues about the relationship between politics and culture.

-bibliography of German language and literature studies . BDSL Online is created by the University Library Frankfurt am Main as a specialization library for German Studies. It is the most important bibliographic source of information for German scholars with a focus on literary studies.

database information system (DBIS) A database of information sources - browse by subject and choose "free on web" to search

National Library of Germany

Fully or partially online Open Access journals

Free online journals

GiN is the online portal of the Fachinformationsdienst (FID) German Studies.

Union Catalogue (GVK) of seven German federal states and the Foundation of Prussian Cultural Heritage participating in the Common Library Network (GBV). A multimaterial bibliographic database.

The KVK is a meta-search engine for the discovery of hundreds of millions of books, magazines and other media in library and book trade catalogs worldwide.

Austrian Library Network

Jahrhunderts: a bibliography of German texts of the 16th century. About 30% have been digitised and are available in full text online

The list of 17th-century prints (VD 17) published in the German-speaking world is a retrospective national bibliography for the period from 1601 to 1700. It covers all German-language prints and all works printed and published in the historical German language area, regardless of their language.

In this database you will find the catalogs of all monographs and journals that have been edited since 2009 in the project "Digitization and development of published in the German-speaking countries prints of the 18th century (VD 18)" . The catalog entries in the database will take you directly to the digital copies of the corresponding print on the website of the library that cataloged and digitized the work within the VD 18.