Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Languages, Literatures and Cultures: Books & E-books

Language Books at UCC Library

UCC Library uses the 'Dewey Decimal' system

Language books are in the 400s. These are on Q+2 Floor.Use the Library Catalogue to locate books.

  • 430-439:    German
  • 440-449:    French
  • 450-459:    Italian
  • 460-469:    Spanish, Portuguese

Literature books are in the 800s. The majority are held on the Q+3 floor. 

  • 830-839:    German
  • 840-849:    French
  • 850-859:    Italian
  • 860-869:    Spanish, Portuguese

Also see:

  • 791.43:      Film

High Demand Books

Books that are in high demand are held in the High Demand Books Room, on the ground (Q) floor. Self-issue & return within the room. 

You cannot take the book out of the library, but you can take it to any of the study areas within the library for up to 4 hours.

Recommend a Book for the Library

You can recommend a book for UCC Library to purchase. To do this, please log in to your Library Account.

New Books

Would you like to be alerted by email to new books received in the Library in your subject area? Just log into your Library Account on the Library Catalogue and save your search. See the instructions for Preferred Searches and email alerts here.

     

How to Find a Print Book

Use the Library Catalogue to find books and eBooks. Note:
Location: what floor it is on

Call number: where it is shelved - see the book's spine

Status: is it available or currently on loan?

E-books

You can choose to search for e-books only on the E-journals & E-books page - see:

 

or browse by subject:

 

Most of UCC Library's eBooks can be located through the Library catalogue. A 'view online' link is provided to the eBook, example:

 

It is also possible to do keyword searches of eBook databases including:

Reference Resources


Top reference resources for Languages, Literatures & Cultures:

Oxford Reference bilingual dictionaries - including French, German, Italian and Spanish 

Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections: Important collections of rare & older material, including a range of material in translation and for comparative purposes.See the Guide for MA in Translation & MA in Languages & Culture in Special Collections.

Some general resources:

  • Material from antiquity in the 'Transmissions and Transformations in the Ancient World' collection
  • Materials on a theme: Example Dictionaries, An Universal European Dictionary of Merchandise: In the English, German, Dutch, Danish, Swedish, French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian, Polish and Latin Languages. London: J. Johnson [etc.], 1799. DE1 NEMN 

French:

  • Important collections of rare & older material, including Byrne Costigan, O’Flaherty / Servais, O Ríordáin as well as material such as dictionaries in Older Printed books e.g. Diderot Encyclopedia
  • Collections of former lecturers in UCC’s French Dept: Ethna Byrne Costigan and Kathleen O’Flaherty & Yvonne Servais

German:

 Italian:

 Spanish:

  • Important collections of rare & older material, including Cooke, de Courcy Ireland, O Ríordáin, Older Printed Books e.g. El ingenioso hidalgo Don Quixote de la Mancha 
  • Collection of first lecturer in Spanish: William Cooke

The Archives Service: