UCC Library: Languages, Literatures and Cultures: Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies

Ebooks & Reference

Biblioteca de Catalunya
Organised in four main units, along with the Maragall Archive of Barcelona and the Biblioteca Víctor Balaguer, in Vilanova i la Geltrú. The 4 units are:
Catalog - all the collections of the Library
Images - variety of documents that date from the s. XVI to the present day
Hemeroteca - periodic publications
Fonoteca – the sound and audiovisual heritage of Catalonia
Cervantes Project
Includes the Cervantes International Bibliography Online (CIBO) Cervantes Digital Library (CDL) and Cervantes Digital Archive of Images (CDAI)
Project Gutenburg: Spanish
Free e-books to download or read online
Biblioteca Digital Hispánica
The digitised collections in the National Library of Spain

Archive of Gabriel Garcia Marquez

The digital archive of Gabriel García Márquez
The digital archive of Colombian-born writer Gabriel García Márquez includes manuscript drafts of published and unpublished works, research material, photographs, scrapbooks, correspondence, clippings, notebooks, screenplays, printed material, ephemera, and an audio recording of García Márquez's acceptance speech for the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1982. The searchable, online archive is comprised of approximately 27,500 items from García Márquez's papers

By Jose Lara [CC BY-SA 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

Culture/General

Eldígoras: hojas de lengua, literatura y arte

Artezblai
Portal to the Performing Arts in Spain
Instituto Cervantes Dublin
founded by the Spanish government in 1991 to promote and spread the Spanish language and Spanish and Hispanic-American culture.
SpanishArts.com
Introductory tour of Spanish art and literature
Real Academia Espańola
The main mission of the Royal Spanish Academy is to ensure that the changes experienced by the Spanish language in its constant adaptation to the needs of its speakers do not break the essential unity that it maintains throughout the Hispanic sphere. Includes the definitive online Spanish Dictionary.

Catalogues & Free Databases

Free Databases:

Compludoc (research database)
Teseo (theses)
DICE (lists of Spanish journals)

Catalogues:

Biblioteca Nacional do Brasil
Biblioteca Nacional de México
Biblioteca Nacional de España: National Library of Spain
Biblioteca de Catalunya: Library of Catalonia
Bibliographical Heritage Union Catalogue (Catálogo Colectivo del Patrimonio Bibliográfico)
WESS Iberian Studies Web
Catálogo colectivo del patrimonio bibliográfico español
Portugal: Direcção-Geral do Livro e das Bibliotecas
Portugal: Biblioteca Nacional: Portugal's National Library. See also: National Bibliographic Database: PORBASE
Digital.CSIC : institutional repository of the Spanish National Research Council
The European Library

Google Cultural Institute

Latino Cultures in the U.S.
Free digital archive of Latino art and artifacts of Latino history.

Language & Linguistics Tools

bab.la
bab.la is a language portal for language lovers and an online community of global citizens. We have 44 dictionaries for 28 languages, blog articles about life abroad, language games and quizzes, verb conjugation for 12 languages, phrase books for university, business or travel, an internship platform and many other language-related products.
WordReference
Bilingual dictionaries and tools

National & Regional Languages

Catalan

Generalitat de Catalunya (Catalan government): Popular culture, Archives, Libraries, Museums, Theatre etc.
Intercat Language courses online: Speak Catalan
Associació d'Escriptors en Llengua Catalana: AELC Catalan writers
Vives Network: Official interuniversitary institution
Literatura catalana medieval
Repertorio informatizzato dell'antica letteratura catalana: Digital Repository of old Catalan literature

Basque

Galician

Cultura Galega: Council of the Galician Culture - offers interesting links, dictionaries, culture and history documents, etc.
Biblioteca Virtual Galega: "Galician Virtual Library", with access to books, videos, music, miscellaneous resources, language and culture links, etc.
Instituto da Lingua Galega: Galician language and culture

Portuguese

Portal da Lingua Portuguesa: Database on aspects of the Portuguese language.
Comunidade de Países de Língua Portuguesa: Official site of the "Community of Portuguese-speaking Countries"
Portugalnet: portal
Instituto Camoes: Site of this official institute, created for the diffusion on Portuguese culture and language

Basque

Catalan

Galician

Portuguese

Spanish

Diccionario Básico Escolar 4th ed. 2013
The online Basic School Dictionary is the product of collaboration between the Center for Applied Linguistics of Santiago de Cuba and the IXA research group of the University of the Basque Country
ELEfante: Grammar of Spanish as a Foreign Language Level B
Free online grammar book
FSI Spanish Courses
Free Spanish audio courses taken from the courses designed by the U.S. Foreign Service Institute.
Learning and teaching Spanish
comprehensive Spanish language guide to improve reading, writing and comprehension skills for beginner, intermediate and advanced levels.
marcoELE
Educational magazine for those learning Spanish as a foreign language
PapELEs:Grammar of Spanish as a Foreign Language Level A
Free online grammar book
StudySpanish.com
Free web-based services to Spanish students and teachers

Research Resources

Latin American Network Information Center
LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. The target audience includes those around the world who have an interest in this region. Many of the resources are designed to facilitate research and academic endeavours

A bibliography of literary theory, criticism and philology
Portal de Archivos Españoles (PARES)
Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas
PhiloBiblon: bio-bibliographical database of early texts produced in the Iberian Peninsula - three separate bibliographies: texts in Spanish (BETA); texts in Catalan (BITECA); texts in Portuguese or Galician (BITAGAP)
Bibliografía de Escritoras Españolas (BIESES): online Bibliography of Spanish Women Writers
Biblioteca digital Intratext : catálogo por lengua : español: full-text online library containing resources in more than 40 languages
Cervantes project : collection of digital texts, bibliographies, images and support material by and about Miguel de Cervantes
Electronic corpus of 15th-century Castilian cancionero manuscripts
Federico García Lorca: features full-text works by the Spanish poet, playwright, and literary author
Ficticia : ciudad de cuentos e historias: virtual city of stories and tales in Spanish language
Ibero-American electronic text series
Libros gratis Universidad Nacional de San Luis in Argentina
Literatura electrónica hispánica
Poder de la palabra: poetic prose and a database of intellectuals, authors, and artists
Latin American Social Sciences Council (CLACSO)
Biblioteca virtual Joan Lluís Vives
Bibliotheca Augustana : bibliotheca Hispanica
Fondos digitalizados : Universidad de Sevilla
Labyrinth : resources for medieval studies : old Spanish (to 1500)
DART-Europe E-theses portal: free web-resource, provides full-text research theses from over 330 Universities across Europe
EUscreen: free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives.
La entretenida by Miguel de Cervantes: A digital, annotated edition and an English translation. Four versions of the Spanish text.
Out of the Wings: plays written in Spanish in different periods and countries, as well as information about their authors, sample translations into English, synopses, performance histories and many other tools for interpreting the featured drama.