Skip to main content

Library Re-opening

UCC Library is committed to reopening both Boole and Brookfield libraries as soon as it is safe to do so: the safety of library users and staff is the chief guiding principle. Read more about our plans and schedule for re-opening our Libraries .

Please see our policies regarding re-opening here

Measuring your Publications' Impact: Researcher Profiles and Metrics

Find out how you can measure and monitor the impact of your publications

The many ways to profile your research

There are many tools available to help you display your research profile online and to enhance your visibility. Some tools focus entirely on publications and include citation analyses of your publications with your profile. These include:

Google Scholar Citations:  You must create your own profile in Google Scholar and further guidelines are available here.

Scopus Author Profiles:   Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. It indexes over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers and is used by the Times Higher Education World University Rankings and QS World University Rankings for citation metrics. Scopus automatically creates author profiles but corrections can be requested through the database. See here for further guidelines.

Web of Science Author Profiles and Publons are based on the Web of Science database. Web of Science has recently started to automatically create author records based on a set of documents likely authored by the same person so you can claim and verify your author record from your author record page on Web of Science. Publons includes publications, citation metrics, peer reviews, journal editing work in author profiles which you must set up yourself. See here for further guidelines.

Tools which can display a comprehensive researcher profile include:

IRIS is the UCC institutional research information system and enables researchers to easily maintain an up-to-date CV, showcase their research expertise and comply with UCC reporting requirements. 

ORCID “provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognized”

UCC web profiles

If someone searches for you online using your name and UCC , your UCC web profile will be returned first.

You use the UCC research information system, IRIS, to populate your web profile.

 

 

H-index

h-index is an author level metric calculated from the citations to an author’s publications. It attempts to encapsulate productivity and impact into one number. The h-index is defined as the maximum value of h such that the given author has published h papers that have each been cited at least h times. A researcher with a h-index of 5 has 5 publications which have been cited at least 5 times. See a screenshot here of the h-index for Donna Strickland, Nobel Laureate for Physics, 2018.  

Donna Strickland h-index Scopus

 

The indicator is calculated in author profiles by citations' databases such as Google Scholar, Scopus or Web of Science. Given these databases index different publications, your h-index will invariably be different across all three databases. Additionally, the h-index will vary across fields because of different publication and citation patterns so it shouldn't be used to compare researchers from different disciplines.  As citations accumulate at different rates, the h-index is time dependent so disadvantages early career researchers or researchers who take career breaks.