Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Matters French: Humanism & Reformation

Connections between Ireland & France from the time of the Anglo-Normans to the 21st Century.

Humanism & Reformation

Etienne Dolet: Stephani Doleti De re navali liber ad Lazarum Bayfium

The Church of Ireland Cathedral Collection was acquired in 1982, and notably extends the holdings in theology, politics, philosophy and humanist production in the Library, which is otherwise strong in early Irish materials. This copy of Lazare de Baïf's treeatise on naval terminology belonged to Charles Crow, a native of the Isle of Man who taught in Dublin and was Bishop of Cloyne from 1702 to 1726. Crow's collection was large and also includes Thesaurus Graecae Linguae among other works by Henri Estienne, together with works by Descartes and other later writers.

Dolet, Etienne. Stephani Doleti De re navali liber ad Lazarum Bayfium. Lyon: Seb. Gryphium,1537. [St Fin Barre's Cathedral Collection]

Etienne Dolet: Stephani Doleti De re navali liber ad Lazarum Bayfium

Estienne produced few illustrated books but De re navali has woodcuts from ships, weather and classical antiquity.

Dolet, Etienne. Stephani Doleti De re navali liber ad Lazarum Bayfium. Lyon: Seb. Gryphium,1537. [St Fin Barre's Cathedral Collection]

Guillaume Rouillé: Promptuaire des medalles, commençant à la Natiuité de nostre Sauueur Jesus Christ

This work was also published by Rouillé in Latin and Italian in the same year. He also notably printed Scève’s account of the entry of Henri II into Lyon.

Rouillé, Guillaume. Promptuaire des medalles, commençant à la Nativité de nostre Sauveur Jesus Christ, et continuant jusques au treschrestien roy de France Henri II. du nom, à present eureusement regnant. Lyon: Guillaume Rouillé, 1553. [Older Printed Books Collection]

Théodore de Bèze: Quaestionum et responsionum Christianarum pars altera

de Bèze,  was established as a professor in Geneva by this date, having succeeded Calvin as pastor in 1564. This, and other works were important contributions to the codification of reformed theology.

de Bèze, Théodore. Quaestionum et responsionum Christianarum pars altera: quae est de Sacramentis. Geneva: Eustache Vignon, 1587. [St Fin Barre's Cathedral Collection]

Erasmus: Omnia opera Des. Erasmi Roterodami

The great Dutch scholar and theologian Erasmus was a student at the beginning of the sixteenth century in the Collège de Montaigu, where the first Irish college in Paris was to be established some seventy years later. On the death of Erasmus, his collected works were published in this major edition by Beatus Rhenanus, one of the foremost textual editors of his age. Long active in Basel, Rhenanus had by the time this volume was printed retired to Sélestat, the city of his birth and to which he was to leave his magnificent library. Rhenanus’ collection now forms the basis of the newly restored Bibliothèque humaniste of Sélestat. This page displays one of the most famous of Erasmus’ Adagia (or Adages): festina lente, or ‘make haste slowly’.

Erasmus, Desiderius. Omnia opera Des. Erasmi Roterodami: qvaecvnqve ipse avtor pro svis agnovit, novem tomis distincta, quorum elenchum sequentes catalogi perspicue exhibebunt. Ex qvibvs hic primvs ea continet, quae spectant ad institutionem literarum / Cum praefatione Beati Rhenani Selestadiensis, uitam autoris describente, ad imp. caes. Carolum v. P.F. Aug. Addito indice copiosissimo. Basileae: Froben, MDCXL. [Older Printed Books Collection]