Skip to main content

UCC Library now Re-opened.

Both Boole and Brookfield BHSL Libraries have re-opened with the safety of Library users and staff as our chief guiding principle.

Please see our policies and important changes regarding re-opening here

Update from our Director of Library Services, Colette McKenna regarding Library Services During COVID Level 5 - Here

Newspapers: Databases

Current and Historical Newspapers from Ireland and abroad.

Accessing Newspapers on Databases

The Irish Times Newspaper: Daily edition of the newspaper. Access via 'Publications' in Proquest Central. 

The Irish Times Digital Archive (1859 to 2011); Includes The Weekly Irish Times, 1876-1958.

Irish Newspaper Archives: It is the world's largest online database of Irish newspapers from which it is possible to search, retrieve and view Ireland's past in the exact format it was published. It contains Irish national, regional and historical newspaper pages including:

  • The Irish Examiner (1841 - 1949); content post-1949 forthcoming
  • Belfast Newsletter (1738 - 1890)
  • Butte Independent (1910 - 1930)
  • The Nation (1842 - 1897)

Nexis UK: Nexis UK brings together thousands of authoritative financial news, business news, legal, regulatory. company and industry research sources to provide business intelligence. Choose from 14 different language options. 

ProQuest Databases: International newspaper content from 1450+ titles. Search 'Historical Newspapers' or 'Newspapers' via Source Type in Advanced Search.

See here for the full list of newspaper databases available at UCC.

Search Example on Irish Newspaper Archive

When searching the Irish Newspaper Archive: Searching Irish AND Montana AND emigration gives 544 results.

These results can be refined with additional search terms, by date range or by newspaper title. In addition the search results analytics shows a bar chart giving results by years. Clicking on any bar gives a second bar chart with the years broken up further. 

The bar chart for 1905 – 1914: 49 results.

Accessing Databases

Access databases through the Library Homepage to identify yourself as an authorised UCC user. Enter your UCC IT Account details in the appropriate fields to gain access to the resource.

Contact Library & IT Services Desk on Q Floor for assistance with lost pins.

Go here for tutorials and guides to specific databases. 

Go here for learning about databases.

Online Databases

Search these full-text databases for historical news:

ICON: Newspaper Digitization Project
Provides a freely accessible database of information for over 25,000 U.S. and international newspapers.

U.S. Historical Newspapers 
This guide from Bowling Green State University provides links by state.

Chronicling America, 1880-1910
Search and view newspaper pages from 1836 -1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Historical Newspapers Online
This site, compiled by BGSU Library is a comprehensive guide listing historical newspapers by state. These historical U.S. newspapers are available online at no cost.

Historical Oregon Newspapers Online
This site provides access to early Oregon newspapers. The digital newspaper content has been placed online for free public access and keyword searching. The Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP) at the University of Oregon completed the preparation and digitization of the newspapers.